KBC/ Vortex Poker II

ShivaYash

28 May 2013, 17:12

Good afternoon chaps,

I am very new to DT and the world of mechanical keyboards. I joined the GeekHack a few months ago, mainly in the hunt for better keycaps for my FILCO TK Cherry Brown board, and within this short membership, have just taken delivery of a little beauty made available via a Group Buy. There has been much debate/ discussion on this already, and as I commented previously, on this forum and on GH, much it this discuss was coming from those without the physical item in front of them. Hating Chinese made products for no obvious reason other than they are Chinese.

How they feel it possible to pass judgement is beyond me! But this is another discussion for another time!

Here are my initial thoughts on this wonderful little board:

Mechanical perfection...? Of course there are some caveats, like with everything in life, but I can already report this little thing feels like an old friend. I drive a 18-year Mercedes-Benz E-Class, and this too feels like an old friend. If you close your eyes behind the wheel of any E-Class from that period (1980s to late 1990s), and place your hands on the wheel at 10 and 2pm, everything: switches, indicator stalks, seat controls, buttons etc fall into place and are within easy reach. They seem to be in the right place for you to access. Essentially, you can easily operate the car, without opening your eyes or looking at the manual. Its predictable and a sign that someone really thought about where things should go. They didn't do anything because cost was a primary factor.

This is exactly how this board feels to me. I am typing this and it feels like I've been using it for years. The layout for me is almost perfect... the feeling is great, a lovely sound, almost Topre in quality of sound in-fact, but I'll do a direct comparison with the HHKB tomorrow afternoon. To date I have only heard Topre keys on YouTube videos.