IBM SSK club!

iAmAhab

08 Nov 2013, 22:21

Can't wait until mine arrives. The only time I've tried buckling spring was on a IBM typewriter, it felt good.

Muirium
µ

08 Nov 2013, 23:50

Leaping straight to an SSK? That's the spirit! Even if you don't like it, they're in high demand and always sell fast. It's like buying an HHKB without trying one first. Not as big a risk as it first looks!

nourathar

09 Nov 2013, 00:30

I can certainly recommend it, I vaguely remember an IBM system at where I studied mid nineties, so I must have typed on it..
But my first conscious buckling spring experience is on this SSK here and I do get to understand why people like them so much...

scottc

12 Dec 2013, 23:52

Dear Sirs/Madams,

I would like to submit my application to join the esteemed SSK club. :ugeek:

Please find attached a blurry phone picture of it on a desk this afternoon as part of my application.

Kind regards, etc etc etc

:mrgreen:

wheybags

12 Dec 2013, 23:57

:3
Scott's one above is one of these :P

scottc

13 Dec 2013, 00:02

Fine, fine, you win! I still think you should've put them in the shape of an "M", though.

Muirium
µ

13 Dec 2013, 00:07

It's been done:
(From Webwit's own collection.)

Anyway, thanks for reminding me. Here's my one and only SSK, trying on some caps for the day.
IMG_3446.jpeg
IMG_3446.jpeg (245.06 KiB) Viewed 6926 times
Apparently communism's back in fashion.

wheybags

13 Dec 2013, 00:12

jesus, dat webwit pic

Muirium
µ

13 Dec 2013, 00:26

He has a lot of floorspace, I'll give him that.

I have about 3 of those boards. Hmm…

webwit
Wild Duck

13 Dec 2013, 00:27

The best/worst part is, that is not my entire IBM collection. But I couldn't fit IBM in the picture (which is taken from climbing to the ceiling).

Muirium
µ

13 Dec 2013, 00:29

A tiny violin plays just for you.

webwit
Wild Duck

13 Dec 2013, 00:30

Thank you for feeling my pain. :mrgreen:

litster

13 Dec 2013, 06:29

webwit, I want to take away your pain. Let me help you.