Just picked up this IBM model M, for free..

krpec

04 Mar 2015, 19:10

Hi all,

it's my first post here, as mechanical keyboards raised my interest recently. After seeing many restoration and other posts about old keyboards, I began searching local bazaar and auction websites and was asking all of my friends and family if they have any old keyboards laying unused.

Today, I remembered that a lot of those were at my local children and youth organisation, which runs hobby groups and where I've attended my first programming course years ago. So after e-mailing to the technical section manager of said organisation, I've picked up this beauty from him, for free! :) Few keycaps are missing and there's no cable, and the manager didn't know if it's working, but those are only minor setbacks, I have no reason to be disappointed given the price. :D

More photos:
Spoiler:

As I wrote, I'm new to this, but I'm looking forward to give this beauty a proper cleaning and restoration, maybe nut and bolt mod, and Teensy 2.0..

Anyway, I'll be thankful for any advice!

seebart
Offtopicthority Instigator

04 Mar 2015, 19:19

Welcome to DT krpec! You can't go wrong with a Model M, especially for free! You don't need a teensy to use this keyboard.

scottc

04 Mar 2015, 19:24

Welcome! Nice keyboard. What layout is that? It looks very interesting.

You should be able to get the cable from Unicomp, or from the the user "elecplus". A European member might have one closer, depending on where you're located.

fohat
Elder Messenger

04 Mar 2015, 19:59

Orihalcon's cables are pricey, but take you straight to USB and look and work great. Available now in beige, too!

chzel

04 Mar 2015, 20:07

They seem to be out if stock right now, though.

guk
1896 Vintage Reds

04 Mar 2015, 20:20

krpec

04 Mar 2015, 22:32

@scottc That is Czech layout :) We are the only one who's using accented r - ř ;) I'll definitely look for that cable, thanks..

scottc

04 Mar 2015, 22:35