Realforce 88UB (Topre 45g)

Spikebolt
√(4) != -2

21 Feb 2015, 00:26

Hi guys, I'm here to make a small review about the Realforce 88UB (45g uniform) that I recently acquired from noobie94 here on DT. This review is not meant to be objective, it's a very personal and biased view of the keyboard. As such, I feel like it's appropriate to share a bit of my keyboard background and hopefully someone will relate to me and find this review helpful. If you just want to read about the keyboard then skip it :D

Background

My name is Cosme, I'm 26 years old and I'm a software developer. I game a bit in my free time but I mainly type of a lot of non-sense with my keyboard heh :P
My first mechanical keyboard was a Razer Blackwidow with MX Blues a couple of years ago. Fortunately the keyboard had serious QC issues and I RMAd it three consecutive times, which in Portugal means you get your money back. This time I searched a bit more about mechanical keyboards (on Reddit, where I am now a very active visitor) and I bought a Filco Majestouch 2 with MX reds. I was in love. The switches felt super smooth, perfect for my fingers. I had this amazing feeling when typing, I didn't want to stop. Since I didn't want to carry the keyboard to work everyday, I decided to go on a quest for the right keyboard to use at work. I tried a lot of boards but none of them fully satisfied me. Everyday I would get home from work and found typing on my Filco much more enjoyable. Here's what I tried:

* Ducky Shine 3 with browns: felt like reds with sand on the stems, didn't enjoy it very much
* WASD V2 with blues: bought it very cheap on DT but since it's so noisy I decided to re-sell it for the same price
* WASD V2 with blacks: not bad, a bit too stiff for my taste but I just felt that linear was not the right choice for work
* Ducky G2 Pro with clears: I really enjoyed the bump but the switch was SOOO stiff that my pinky finger would hurt from pressing the Enter key...