What do you think about compact cameras? Should I buy an RX100?

acolombo

18 Apr 2015, 23:56

Hi everyone,

I know a lot of people here love photography and take awesome pictures of their keyboards.

I also really like photography, I love nice photos, I like to take photos and I like camera gear. I actually studied photography for 3 years, so I have some technical experience, but unfortunately I have not that much experience on field, because I never had a real camera. I have some film cameras, I like to develop film and everything but it's too much hassle to just pick it up and take some photos.

I'm still a student so I'm on a budget, I know if I buy a reflex I won't be able to buy any lenses other than the standard one. So I'm considering to buy a Sony DSC-RX100, also known as the best compact camera in the world. Obviously a compact camera would be a lot more portable and imho needs less care, and those factors are quite important to me. Still I don't want to ignore photo quality, which is also very important.

What do you, more expert photographers, think about this choice? Is a reflex still better (for a similar price I could choose an used Canon 550D) for what I've said or the RX100 is a nice choice? It's a difficult decision and I don't know what to do :?

Ascaii
The Beard

19 Apr 2015, 08:43

Getting a used Canon or Nikon will be the more future proof option. True, you will most likely spend a year with only one or two lenses, but you will need that time to get used to the camera and break it in anyways. Faced with a similar decision two years ago I went with a used Nikon I picked up locally and I never regretted the choice.

Muirium
µ

19 Apr 2015, 09:03