How to build your very own keyboard firmware

Halvar

27 Jul 2015, 13:20

Congratulations on getting it to work, that looks like a very nice keyboard. Beautiful keycaps!

IMO it's better to do the mapping on the side of the PC operating system. You could write macros for it in the firmware (i have no experience with this yet, but I know it's possible), but its much more of a hassle and rather unelegant if you ask me. There's a short documentation for that in Hasu's code repository.

Ray

27 Jul 2015, 15:14

It is quite a beauty!
I would personally do this in firmware, because then I will only have to do it once ;)
TMK can't do that out of the box if you want shift reported to the OS normally, but it's 20 lines of code or so if your shift-layer is accessible on a normal keyboard with shift (as "+" is on the Numpad, i believe). On the OS-side though, you can do are not restricted by existing keyboard layouts.

But are the printed legends enough anyways? you might want to have tab and alt somewhere. Together with that awesome caps/func key.

Caeyden

27 Jul 2015, 19:03

Hey everyone,

Need a bit of help with loading my tmk keymap unto a keyboard.

I've just finished defining a keymap for a planck that I have coming in the mail. I don't have any of the other files, as the seller told me that they're already burned into the planck's controller. I followed some guides on how to define a keymap, and looked at examples of others, so as of now, all I have is this, in .txt form.

Code: Select all

#include "keymap_common.h"

const uint8_t PROGMEM keymaps[][MATRIX_ROWS][MATRIX_COLS] = {
[0] = KEYMAP( /* QWERTY BASE */
  TAB,		Q,		W,		E,		R,		T,		Y,		U,		I,		O,		P,		BSPC,	
  LCTL,		A,		S,		D,		F,		G,		H,		J,		K,		L,		QUOT,	ENT,		
  LSFT,		Z,		X,		C,		V,		B,		N,		M,		COMM,	DOT,		SLSH,	FN3,		
  ESC,		CAPS,	LGUI, 	LALT,	FN1,		SPC,				FN2,		LEFT,	DOWN,	UP,		RGHT),

[1] = KEYMAP( /* FN1 numbers, hold */
  TRNS,		1,		2,		3,		4,		5,		6,		7,		8,		9,		0,		TRNS,