Designing a custom Topre board

attheicearcade

06 Oct 2015, 21:24

Edit: picture for thumbnail

Original post:

Before I start this post, let me say I am not an electronics engineer. As such any information in this thread is potentially wrong. Also this is my first post here, sorry if I have missed something out.

Background

Since receiving a HHKB I have wanted to reverse engineer the matrix to make my own split hand Topre keyboard. With the help of Hasu's work I set about probing around my HHKB's PCB and particularly the function of the TP1684 chip.

TP1684

Recently I have been able to breadboard a 2x2 matrix using test pad PCBs I had made using itead.cc. I have sensed key height successfully with rudimentary firmware running on a Teensy 3.1.

Breadboard setup

This graph shows the ADC reading on each row over time (total time is probably 2 seconds, I can't remember).

Key depression: (blue and red are separate rows)

There are some kinks still and it is prone to interference problems but it is a breadboard so this is to be expected. I am looking to implement an analog multiplexer like the HHKB since I have come across issues with offset of op amp output voltage. This could be calibrated out but since the original plan was to use several op amps it is much simpler to multiplex and just use one.

Keys will be able to be read at the same rate that the HHKB's keys are (3.6 kHz). For the HHKB this gives 60 Hz per key. The limitation for my circuit is really the RC decay time which can be tweaked to get desired performance. It is a trade off between measurement accuracy and speed.

Method

Matrix diagram

Simulation results