getting a nixdorf softkeys keyboard working

sphinx
Major Bummer

09 Apr 2015, 13:39

Has i posted before here i found this baby a few months ago.

I wanted to see if i could get it working, i bought some atmega34u arduino controllers but i dont really know where to start to do this.. i know how to code, but i don't have that much experience with electronics, just some basic understanding and expert google skills

this is the connector:

so, where to start?

scottc

09 Apr 2015, 13:42

I'm no expert by any means, but I'd probably do the following:
- Find out which computer or terminal it interfaces with
- Find out what protocol that computer's keyboards use
- Find out the pinout of that cable or reverse engineer it
Your expert Google skills should help you with #1 and #2, but you're on your own for the rest. Good luck!

HzFaq

09 Apr 2015, 13:46

If you're going for a full controller replacement, mapping the matrix would be a good start; you can then find out how many rows/columns there are and how many pins you will need on your converter.

From there on, you can follow that to get your converter set up and firmware sorted.

Broadly...I've not actually done this yet (I've been planning to map the matrix of my Acces-IS board for months), but that was going to be my starting point.

sphinx
Major Bummer

09 Apr 2015, 13:56

well googling about this keyboard isnt that easy, most of the posts send me to reddit/GH/deskthority with people drooling about the booby-soft-switches and what not :)

but i did find this topic in google groups: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... KrHZBbqhoQ

I used google translate and apparently they are just saying that the connector doesn't fit anything they know..

this might be related to the controller, but i'll need to confirm when i get home: http://www.keil.com/dd/docs/datashts/in ... 1sl_ds.pdf

this is what i have so far.