New forum software and technical committee

guys. we are just upgrading the software... you would probably not even notice.
matt3o
User avatar
-[°_°]-

Unread post06 Feb 2017, 07:55

User avatar
X
matt3o
-[°_°]-
 
Posts: 8180
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 15:14
Location: Italy
Main keyboard: WhiteFox
Main mouse: Anywhere MX
Favorite switch: Anything, really
Club member: 0030
 
 
This signature intentionally left blank...
Argh! PLEASE do something with the tables! Never seen such a pain to fill in a table!
Uploading multiple pictures at a time would be nice too!
elecplus
User avatar

Unread post06 Feb 2017, 22:27

User avatar
X
elecplus
 
Posts: 2811
Joined: 24 Jul 2014, 20:25
Location: Kerrville, TX, USA
Club member: 0082
 
I do have to hand it to phpBB for making a complete toilet of a table syntax. Last time I think I just inserted a screenshot of Excel, as it was completely impossible to make any sense out of phpBB tables. I'd have thought that you'd be able to do something similar to the list syntax, but with tags for "begin row" and "begin cell" instead of "begin list item". Tables aren't easy no matter what (MediaWiki table syntax is pretty hard to follow for all its supposed simplicity) but a list-like syntax should at least make very simple tables fairly painless.
Daniel Beardsmore
User avatar

Unread post06 Feb 2017, 23:06

User avatar
X
Daniel Beardsmore
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 18:23
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Main keyboard: Filco Majestouch 1 (home)/Poker II backlit (work)
Main mouse: MS IMO 1.1
Favorite switch: Probably not whatever I wrote here
Club member: -
 
Hm. I just looked at tables for the first time. They are rather impenetrable, particularly if you just assume something simple will work... and haven't found the generator. What it needs is to assume some default values if the poster hasn't provided them. Really I (or any other HTML semi-literate who wanders along) ought to be able to do a simple table with just
Code: Select all
[table]
[tr][td]Cell1[/td][td]Cell2[/td][td]Cell3[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]A fourth cell[/td][td]Guess what[/td][td]And again[/td][/tr]
[/table]

I now understand why 7bit goes into monospace to do tables. Apart from aesthetic preference, of course. :D
citrojohn

Unread post07 Feb 2017, 00:16

X
citrojohn
 
Posts: 149
Joined: 26 Jul 2016, 13:54
Location: UK (Berkshire)
Main keyboard: Cherry G84-4400 (work) / Tipro MID (home)
Main mouse: Tiny trackball or laptop trackpad
Favorite switch: Model M, until I try something rarer ;)
 
The code isn't too bad in theory (it's just a rip-off of HTML), but it's incredibly fussy. You're not allowed one iota of whitespace, and it doesn't take too much data before the no-whitespace requirement becomes unmanageable, so much so that you can't even figure out where this bad whitespace even is, and you want to throw the whole computer out the window. Probably one of Satan's side projects when there weren't enough newcomers around.

HTML of course allows whitespace anywhere and sort-of ignores it, but that causes a load of weird problems of its own if you want readable HTML and functional presentation. Even with template-driven/code-generated HTML I still expect it to be presentable and readable. (I'd like a CSS option to turn off the useless whitespace as required.)

Lots of trade-offs with tables!
Daniel Beardsmore
User avatar

Unread post07 Feb 2017, 00:24

User avatar
X
Daniel Beardsmore
 
Posts: 4622
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 18:23
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Main keyboard: Filco Majestouch 1 (home)/Poker II backlit (work)
Main mouse: MS IMO 1.1
Favorite switch: Probably not whatever I wrote here
Club member: -
 
elecplus wrote:Argh! PLEASE do something with the tables! Never seen such a pain to fill in a table!
Uploading multiple pictures at a time would be nice too!

Code: Select all
tables are super easy with [code][/code]
:evilgeek:
7bit
User avatar

Unread post08 Feb 2017, 12:27

User avatar
X
7bit
 
Posts: 13432
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 23:37
Location: Berlin, DE
Main keyboard: Tipro / IBM 3270 emulator
Main mouse: Logitech granite for SGI
Favorite switch: MX Lock
Club member: 0001
 
matt3o wrote:
HuBandiT wrote:Other than that, when I browse the marketplace, sometimes I wish there was a way to catalogue buy%ell offers, so that we can put in permanent offers/interests to buy/sell (rare) X, and be automatically notified when a matching offer for X is posted even years down the road. (And I'm not saying this would be easy, or would make sense in the world of people trying to move stuff fast.)

this would fucking awesome!

if there is genuine interest, please open up a topic for it at the proper place, and let's slowly percolate ideas.
HuBandiT

Unread post15 Feb 2017, 00:50

X
HuBandiT
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 26 Oct 2015, 00:56
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Main keyboard: notebook built-in with goodness between G, H and B
Main mouse: pointing stick with a red dot, between G, H and B
Favorite switch: (newbie - jury is still out)
Club member: 0123
 
is operation "forum update" failed already? Where is my technical committee?! :P
matt3o
User avatar
-[°_°]-

Unread post03 Mar 2017, 07:00

User avatar
X
matt3o
-[°_°]-
 
Posts: 8180
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 15:14
Location: Italy
Main keyboard: WhiteFox
Main mouse: Anywhere MX
Favorite switch: Anything, really
Club member: 0030
 
 
This signature intentionally left blank...
I really like Discourse but it does take some getting used to. It’s modern and works well on mobile. I’m not sure how easy it is to migrate though.
Belfong
User avatar

Unread post04 Mar 2017, 06:53

User avatar
X
Belfong
 
Posts: 248
Joined: 24 Sep 2013, 11:41
Location: Malaysia
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro 2
Main mouse: Apple Magic Trackpad
Favorite switch: Topre!
Club member: -
 
In an effort to get this moving, what version of phpBB are we on currently? Are the DT-specific customizations available anywhere? A first step to upgrading would probably be running the latest locally with the DT plugins and styling, I'd imagine.

EDIT: Ahh I see in the previous page, 3.0.X is the current version. Is there an easy way for us to grab the custom plugins or whatever else is DT-specific to get it up and running locally and try a migration there?

EDIT EDIT: Here's a listing of 3.0.X tarballs: https://download.phpbb.com/pub/release/3.0/ not sure what particular patch version we're on, and apparently you can't find out without administrator rights.

It would also seem there are automatic patches between versions. If we're on 3.0.14, there is a premade patch to go from 3.0.14 to 3.2.latest. That seems like a worthwhile approach to explore, rather than attempting the earlier-mentioned manual diffing to create a patch ourselves:

https://www.phpbb.com/support/docs/en/3.../upgrade3/
pr0ximity
User avatar

Unread post12 May 2017, 03:18

User avatar
X
pr0ximity
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 17:07
Location: Maine, USA
Main keyboard: OTD 356 Mini V1
Main mouse: Mionix Avior 7000
Favorite switch: Beamspring
Club member: 0173
 
The upgrade docs from 3.0 -> 3.2 state: "phpBB 3.2 is not compatible with 3.0 and most of the previous files will need to be removed prior to upgrading."

So it sounds like we would basically need to re-write all of the styling and any custom plugins for 3.2. Styling doesn't sound very scary, so I suppose it will depend on what custom plugins we have and how many there are.
pr0ximity
User avatar

Unread post12 May 2017, 03:40

User avatar
X
pr0ximity
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 17:07
Location: Maine, USA
Main keyboard: OTD 356 Mini V1
Main mouse: Mionix Avior 7000
Favorite switch: Beamspring
Club member: 0173
 
we were able to convert the database and put a default theme over it, but we have to disable all the changes we made to the current version. Also we've found some issues in the formatting here and there and I wasn't able to pin point the problem.

The technical committee has been pretty lazy honestly, to that adds problem in my personal life and the upgrade basically stalled.... but it's still my top priority.
matt3o
User avatar
-[°_°]-

Unread post13 May 2017, 07:00

User avatar
X
matt3o
-[°_°]-
 
Posts: 8180
Joined: 03 Sep 2012, 15:14
Location: Italy
Main keyboard: WhiteFox
Main mouse: Anywhere MX
Favorite switch: Anything, really
Club member: 0030
 
Cool, glad to hear there's been progress. Is there a test environment up somewhere with the converted DB and default theme? I'd be happy to help trying to get any of the DT functionality or themeing ported over.
pr0ximity
User avatar

Unread post13 May 2017, 22:19

User avatar
X
pr0ximity
 
Posts: 152
Joined: 18 Jul 2013, 17:07
Location: Maine, USA
Main keyboard: OTD 356 Mini V1
Main mouse: Mionix Avior 7000
Favorite switch: Beamspring
Club member: 0173
 
chuckdee
User avatar

Unread post14 May 2017, 00:55

User avatar
X
chuckdee
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 05 Mar 2016, 20:32
Location: USA
Main keyboard: Pok3r
Main mouse: Logitech g900
Favorite switch: Cherry MX Brown
Club member: 0151
 
chuckdee wrote:http://staging.deskthority.org/index.php

Heh, it looks like it is time to demolish that forum and pave over it with a new import / install, it seems to be infested with spammers.
JBert

Unread post14 May 2017, 13:25

X
JBert
 
Posts: 1089
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 23:02
Location: Belgium, land of Liberty Wafles and Freedom Fries
Main keyboard: G80-3K with Clears
Favorite switch: Capacitative BS
Club member: 0049
 
Previous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests