Request for monospaced font

Would love to have a monospaced font to use on the forums. I know that the code feature exists, but since it only displays the first 10 lines or so, it's not very useful. Not sure the difficulty in adding a new font to select, but...
Last edited by Blaise170 on 03 May 2018, 19:46, edited 1 time in total.
Blaise170
User avatar
ALPS キーボード

Unread post03 May 2018, 18:20

User avatar
X
Blaise170
ALPS キーボード
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 22:18
Location: Boston, MA
Main keyboard: Varmilo VA87MR
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Alps SKCM Blue
DT Pro Member: 0129
 
I use Liberation Mono. It prints ilL1| in a different enough manner so works for me.
cml

Unread post03 May 2018, 18:27

X
cml
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 20:17
Location: Barcelona, EU
DT Pro Member: -
 
It doesn't show as a button in the editor, but try the 'monospace' tag.
webwit
User avatar
Wild Duck

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:04

User avatar
X
webwit
Wild Duck
 
Posts: 10313
Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 23:27
Location: The Netherlands
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro II
Favorite switch: IBM beam spring
DT Pro Member: 0000
 
Oh I think I misunderstood your request, sorry for intruding... :D
cml

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:09

X
cml
 
Posts: 66
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 20:17
Location: Barcelona, EU
DT Pro Member: -
 
let's try this
one space
two spaces
three spaces
four spaces

.
.
.
.
.
.


It works, but it doesn't handle front spaces nor multiple spaces.
ramnes
User avatar
ПБТ НАВСЕГДА

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:23

User avatar
X
ramnes
ПБТ НАВСЕГДА
 
Posts: 2068
Joined: 16 Aug 2014, 13:40
Location: France
Main keyboard: 35g BKE FC660C
Main mouse: SteelSeries Kana v2
Favorite switch: Beamspring
DT Pro Member: -
 
ramnes wrote:let's try this
one space
two spaces
three spaces
four spaces

.
.
.
.
.
.


It works, but it doesn't handle front spaces nor multiple spaces.

Hmmm... I wonder if BBCode requires non-breaking spaces to display monospace correctly.
Blaise170
User avatar
ALPS キーボード

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:31

User avatar
X
Blaise170
ALPS キーボード
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 22:18
Location: Boston, MA
Main keyboard: Varmilo VA87MR
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Alps SKCM Blue
DT Pro Member: 0129
 
There's also 'fixed' and 'financial'.
webwit
User avatar
Wild Duck

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:36

User avatar
X
webwit
Wild Duck
 
Posts: 10313
Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 23:27
Location: The Netherlands
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro II
Favorite switch: IBM beam spring
DT Pro Member: 0000
 
 
Fixed:
0
1
2
3
4
5


Financial:
0
1
2
3
4
5
Blaise170
User avatar
ALPS キーボード

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:40

User avatar
X
Blaise170
ALPS キーボード
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 22:18
Location: Boston, MA
Main keyboard: Varmilo VA87MR
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Alps SKCM Blue
DT Pro Member: 0129
 
Nice.

┌──────────┬──────────┬──────────┐
│ Alpha │ Beta │ Gamma │
├──────────┼──────────┼──────────┤
│ 1 │ 2 │ 3 │
│ AB │ CD │ EF │
│ QWE │ RTY │ UIO │
│ XXXX │ WWWW │ MMMM │
│ A │ B │ C │
└──────────┴──────────┴──────────┘
Blaise170
User avatar
ALPS キーボード

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:42

User avatar
X
Blaise170
ALPS キーボード
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 22:18
Location: Boston, MA
Main keyboard: Varmilo VA87MR
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Alps SKCM Blue
DT Pro Member: 0129
 
Monospace: <span style="font-family: monospace">{TEXT}</span>

Fixed: <pre style="font-size: 10px; line-height: 16px; white-space: pre-wrap; white-space: -moz-pre-wrap; white-space: -pre-wrap; white-space: -o-pre-wrap; word-wrap: break-word">{TEXT}</pre>

Financial: <pre style="font-size: 10px; line-height: 16px; overflow: auto">{TEXT}</pre>

So 'monospace' collapses white space and wraps lines if it doesn't fit (it behaves like non-monospace text), 'fixed' preserves white space and wraps lines if it doesn't fit, and financial goes all the way: it preserves white-space and doesn't wrap until it encounters a newline, and shows a horizontal scrollbar if it doesn't fit.
webwit
User avatar
Wild Duck

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:48

User avatar
X
webwit
Wild Duck
 
Posts: 10313
Joined: 27 Jan 2011, 23:27
Location: The Netherlands
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro II
Favorite switch: IBM beam spring
DT Pro Member: 0000
 
Very useful information. Thanks for that webwit. I just updated a chart in my GB thread and now it actually looks somewhat nice. Looks like in general I'll be using [financial] to format any tables I make (the PHP table generator is extremely hard to use, FYI).
Blaise170
User avatar
ALPS キーボード

Unread post03 May 2018, 19:51

User avatar
X
Blaise170
ALPS キーボード
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: 30 Oct 2014, 22:18
Location: Boston, MA
Main keyboard: Varmilo VA87MR
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Alps SKCM Blue
DT Pro Member: 0129
 
 
I proxy anything, including keyboards (キーボード / 鍵盤), from both Japan (日本) and China (中國). For more information, you may visit my dedicated webpage here: https://www.keyboards.es/proxying.html

View my current and past keyboards here: wiki/User:Blaise170

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: pansku and 13 guests