AEK II to AEK64 mods

lbassett_21

13 Nov 2018, 17:27

Hi there Deskthority!

Its my first time posting here and I just have a little question. So I found an old AEK II with cream dampened alps awhile ago and so far, it has just been sitting on my desk for while without getting the use it deserves. I plan on desoldering the switches and putting them in an AEK64 PCB. The switches feel really scratchy so they definitely will need to be cleaned. While looking around, I saw that there are a few mods I can make to the switches such as taking out the rubber dampeners, click modding, taking out the leaf to make it linear, etc... The question I have is, what mods, if any should I make to the cream dampened alps to make them the best they possibly could feel?

Thank you so much!

Muirium
µ

13 Nov 2018, 17:36

Hey there!

Some bad news about Alps, unfortunately. They tend to get ruined by dirt. People more knowledgable about Alps than me can say why—I think it has something to do with their design being more open to external dirt from above. But the conclusion is that they don’t fix up good. You can mod them, but unless you replace the bad bits, you’re not going to get much out of that.

This is why pristine condition Alps boards are so prized: their switches haven’t been sullied! My Alps boards are generally pretty nice. I’ve never picked up a heavily used one.

Findecanor

13 Nov 2018, 18:27

Welcome!

There is a modern reconstruction of Alps switches though: Matias switches. The Matias Quiet Click (which does not in fact click!) resembles the dampened Cream switches in the AEK II.
You could also mix and match parts from multiple switches if you would get hold of an Alps keyboard with smoother switches.

BTW, The AEK64 PCB supports only US-ANSI AEK and AEK II layouts. AEK and AEKII with vertical Return key (ISO layout) are a bit weird and don't fit. Keys from some other Alps keyboards with vertical Return key might fit though.

lbassett_21

13 Nov 2018, 19:01