Dead Focus 2001

Hey there. I recently bought a Focus 2001 from a recycling center. I was using it on my computer via a Soarer's Converter. It was working fine, but sometimes it would take a while to power up. While using it one day I could no longer type and a string of ds (ddddddddddddddddd) came up, and then it died, no lock lights or anything. The converter is fine, as I still use it with my Model F. I'm suspecting the cable, but I'm no expert on these things. Is there a reasonably easy fix for this? Or should I scrap it? I'd rather not throw it out as I like the white Alps switches, and the key caps are great. Not to mention that snazzy dust cover. Thanks!
digital_matthew

Unread post07 Dec 2017, 01:50

X
digital_matthew

Main keyboard: IBM Model F122
Main mouse: It's a Secret.
Favorite switch: Capacative Buckling Spring
DT Pro Member: -

digital_matthew wrote:Hey there. I recently bought a Focus 2001 from a recycling center. I was using it on my computer via a Soarer's Converter. It was working fine, but sometimes it would take a while to power up. While using it one day I could no longer type and a string of ds (ddddddddddddddddd) came up, and then it died, no lock lights or anything. The converter is fine, as I still use it with my Model F. I'm suspecting the cable, but I'm no expert on these things. Is there a reasonably easy fix for this? Or should I scrap it? I'd rather not throw it out as I like the white Alps switches, and the key caps are great. Not to mention that snazzy dust cover. Thanks!

The cord wouldn't cause slow power up, but bad electrolytic cap(s) on the PC board might. Those tend to dry out with age, especially if the keyboard was stored and not used for a while. Cheap and easy to change those if you have a soldering iron.
Polecat

Unread post07 Dec 2017, 05:44

X
Polecat

Main keyboard: Monterey K104
Main mouse: Logitech Optical
Favorite switch: Alps Blue