Model F AT not working

Hey all, I got an F AT off of ebay a few weeks back, but I've had no luck getting it going. The seller said it was working when he last used it, but that was over 6 months ago. I ordered a soarer's converter off ebay, but had no response from the keyboard when plugging it in, from looking at HID listen it seemed like the keyboard was not being detected. I forced set 2 on the soarer's but still no luck. Then I ordered an AT-PS2 converter and plugged that into my server. I haven't tried using it properly as I don't have a screen plugged into that machine, but I got no caps lock or scroll lock lights, even after a system reset with the keyboard plugged in.

So, any ideas? Any further tests I can do, or should I just bite the bullet and order an xwhatsit?
Shifty
User avatar

Unread post26 Nov 2018, 04:05

User avatar
X
Shifty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2015, 13:45
Location: Perth, Australia
Main keyboard: Leopold FC660C
Main mouse: Logitech G400
Favorite switch: undecided
DT Pro Member: -
 
Have you tried to disassemble and assemble it after some clean? Maybe the part connecting to the controller got some problem, try it.
SilenceGoo

Unread post26 Nov 2018, 05:43

X
SilenceGoo
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 19 Aug 2018, 04:51
Location: Beijing
Main keyboard: IBM MODEL M
Main mouse: logic mx master 2s
Favorite switch: Buckling Spring
DT Pro Member: -
 
I've taken it apart completely, yes, couldn't see any obvious problems. I'm not too knowledgeable on electronics but I tested the keyboard's cable with a multimeter and couldn't see any problems there either.
Shifty
User avatar

Unread post26 Nov 2018, 10:01

User avatar
X
Shifty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2015, 13:45
Location: Perth, Australia
Main keyboard: Leopold FC660C
Main mouse: Logitech G400
Favorite switch: undecided
DT Pro Member: -
 
it would be helpful to take a picture of the controller board maybe there is a component that needs replacing and that is why it appears to be dead?
Anakey

Unread post26 Nov 2018, 10:15

X
Anakey
 
Posts: 126
Joined: 22 Jun 2017, 17:41
Location: UK
Main keyboard: Planck
Main mouse: Cyborg Rat 7
Favorite switch: Alps skcm white
DT Pro Member: -
 
You can try replacing the electrolytic capacitors, they may have dried up or began to drift off value. It's a common thing for aging electronics.. If you can, send a picture of the PCB. Maybe it will help to diagnose the issue

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
cnrmsn

Unread post29 Nov 2018, 04:37

X
cnrmsn
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 08 Jun 2018, 18:59
Location: Illinois, USA
Main keyboard: IBM Model F XT
Main mouse: Logitech G502
Favorite switch: Capacitive buckling spring
DT Pro Member: -
 
@Shifty: Which Soarer's converter and which At-PS/2 converter did you buy? I've had good results with Orihalcon's Soarer's converters and with the "Blue Cube" active converter along with an AT-PS/2 adapter.
Hypersphere
User avatar

Unread post29 Nov 2018, 23:17

User avatar
X
Hypersphere
 
Posts: 3714
Joined: 24 Jun 2013, 23:47
Location: USA
Main keyboard: Silenced & Lubed HHKB (Black)
Main mouse: Logitech G403
Favorite switch: Topre 45/55g Silenced; Various Alps; IBM Model F
DT Pro Member: 0038
 
Thanks for the input guys! Here are some pictures, as I say, looks ok to me but I am no expert. The pcb is kinda warped as you can see in the last pic, but I don't think this would affect through-hole components much right?

Image
Image
Image
Image

Hypersphere, I got the soarer's converter from the seller tinkerboy on ebay, the AT-ps2 converter is just some generic one, I was under the impression you did not need an active converter for that conversion?
Shifty
User avatar

Unread post01 Dec 2018, 09:46

User avatar
X
Shifty
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 20 Apr 2015, 13:45
Location: Perth, Australia
Main keyboard: Leopold FC660C
Main mouse: Logitech G400
Favorite switch: undecided
DT Pro Member: -
 
I've never tried tinkerboy products. I have purchased many internal and external converters from Orihalcon, and they have always worked as intended. Regarding adapters/converters for "vintage" IBM keyboards, I have always used active converters, and they have always worked for me.
Hypersphere
User avatar

Unread post01 Dec 2018, 16:17

User avatar
X
Hypersphere
 
Posts: 3714
Joined: 24 Jun 2013, 23:47
Location: USA
Main keyboard: Silenced & Lubed HHKB (Black)
Main mouse: Logitech G403
Favorite switch: Topre 45/55g Silenced; Various Alps; IBM Model F
DT Pro Member: 0038
 
Would you like take a photo for this part with more details, especially for the cables for connection? Once time, I got an f at with no luck working also, end up finding the different color cables messed.
Attachments
cable.png
John Doe

Unread post04 Dec 2018, 00:50

X
John Doe
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 27 Nov 2018, 07:55
Location: US
Main keyboard: IBM Model F
Main mouse: Logic G903 wireless
Favorite switch: Capacitive Buckling Spring
DT Pro Member: -
 
Did you test it with the controller PCB disconnected from the inner assembly? (You shouldn't!)

There are supposed to be two screws holding it to the assembly and they serve as ground connections.
JBert

Unread post11 Dec 2018, 19:34

X
JBert
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: 10 Mar 2011, 23:02
Location: Belgium, land of Liberty Wafles and Freedom Fries
Main keyboard: G80-3K with Clears
Favorite switch: Capacitative BS
DT Pro Member: 0049
 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: boomgopher, ebonitas, FXT, geezee, JP!, Keybug, mannyluvstacos, Myoth, Sangdrax and 64 guests