The Clic-64, custom build

andrea-i

22 Feb 2017, 10:40

Hello!

First post here, although I've been lurking around for a while planning an evil scheme for total money wasting!

The story so far, I'm a few months in, first TKL with cherry blue and loving it, but missing that special feel.
As many around here I guess, I started my own mental trip towards the perfect compact. Started looking at 60% to soon realise I needed the arrow keys, so I moved to evaluating a clueboard/leopold layout but then realised I could maybe make a whole new thing from scratch.

I am in love with the design of vintage home computers, especially the commodore 64. I thought about using a real c64 keyboard with an arduino, but I guess it just isn't practical to have a huge thing on my desk, super high raised and without very good switches.

I am a 3d artist/programmer by trade, and I've been longing to get into cnc machining for a while, so I started working on this project on my spare time, The Clic-64!
rend1NewLayout.jpg
rend1NewLayout.jpg (222.53 KiB) Viewed 7307 times
Before to make that model and render I dissected what I felt like key concepts of a c64 and retro terminals in general:
c64study.jpg
c64study.jpg (226.94 KiB) Viewed 7619 times
Once I've identified some key aspects, I started working on the layout, the thing here was making something that would incarnate that same feeling from vintage terminals, while being practical about usability (I plan on making this my full time keybaord after all), while also trying to use only standard sized keys, to avoid making this just a dream project:
layoutStudy.jpg
layoutStudy.jpg (650.03 KiB) Viewed 7619 times
Turns out this thing has 64 keys exactly, I realised this later, thus the super fitting name : )

I'm hoping to push this thing forward in the next few months and document it all here.