[WIP] KeyBoi DT60 - a 60% ortholinear GH60 case compatible

brunoboi

21 Jun 2017, 07:45

Hello everyone ;-)

I am Bruno and I am an IT developer from Belgium.

I am seeking for years a keyboard that fit all my requirements... As I've never found it, let's build it !
It will be my very first custom board.

Those are my requirements:
  • ortholinear/non-staggered layout (inspired by OLKB boards)
  • the layout should have the return key near the center (inspired by the TypeMatrix tm2030)
  • it will support the french bépo layout
  • it should run over QMK (as this firmware has more features than usual)
  • it should be compatible with GH60/Pok3r cases (as I don't want to design a custom case and because those are easily available and also because sandwich-layered cases are not sexy enough for me)
  • it will not be hand-wired (because I like challenges and I would like to learn how to design my very first PCB)
  • the PCB will NOT have any surface-mounted parts (as I don't have the required tools and do not want to buy it)
I am working on this for a while and I came out with a layout that MAY fit GH60 cases:
dt68-blank.png
dt68-blank.png (49.14 KiB) Viewed 3335 times
(open in imgur)

This layout is also compatible with blank Ergodox keycap sets.

The dt68 needs:
  • 55x 1u keycaps
  • 12x 1.5u keycaps
  • 1x 2u keycap
The Infinity Ergodox needs:
  • 60x 1u keycaps
  • 12x 1.5u keycaps
  • 4x 2u keycaps
Here are the KLE layouts I am working on to:
empty layout
qwerty layout
bépo layout (slightly customized)

Here is the plate switch layer:

In order to achieve this project, I need your help ;-)

So, what do you think about ? Feel free to post questions/remarks/thoughts :D

I have got some questions for you:
  • Do you see any problems for GH60 compatibility with the plate switch layer ?
  • What controller would you chose in order to ensure full QMK possibilities ? I was thinking about a Teensy but I don't know which one to chose and why.