Designing a completely new switch.

mustcode

07 Mar 2018, 19:45

Hello!

To be completely honest, I don't have a convincing reason as to why I'm trying to design a new switch... and I'm not gonna try to come up with one, because this project actually started from me losing a lot of sleep nights after nights as I couldn't stop thinking about this switch idea, and I know myself well enough to realize that I need to do something about it before I turn insomniac :shock:

But I can tell you why I think this design is interesting, and I'll let you guys decide if it could be beneficial to the community! :D

DISCLAIMER: I'm not a professional designer by any standard, I'm just a game programmer who knows a little bit of Sketchups (pretty useful for making placeholders). So, please don't expect professional quality CAD files from me :oops: However, I did quite a few 3d printing to verify that the general design will 'most likely' work (definitely didn't work the first couple of time, this is actually ver.11 :roll: )

First let's look at what it looks like:
switch-iso.jpg
switch-iso.jpg (120.17 KiB) Viewed 5354 times