Just wanted to say hello to everyone

GivenZane

05 Sep 2020, 06:55

Hello everyone!
My name is Given Zane and I'm new to this forum. I've been collecting keyboards very selectively for years and recently discovered this place. My daily driver board this week is an IBM Model M 1390120.
I'm a Student and a full-time bar tender as my job. I have many hobbies, but the primary ones are programming, photography, and tinkering with Linux. I have been daily driving Linux for about a decade now. My go to distro is Mint nowadays simply due to it's ease of use LOL I used to daily drive Gentoo, but got tired of the maintenance.
Anyway, enough ramblings, It's nice to meet everyone here!
Cheers,
Given

Edit:
I mainly made this account so that I can edit the wiki. I have a couple keyboards that aren't mentioned and wanted to add them.

kbdfr
The Tiproman

05 Sep 2020, 07:02

Hello and welcome!

sharktastica

05 Sep 2020, 11:05

Welcome, from a fellow student, keyboard enthusiast (of course) and Linux user!

I mostly use Mint too across my army of IBM and Lenovo ThinkPads. As you said, it's simple and it just works. For older gear or for low software overhead, I usually turn to TinyCore though. Like Gentoo, you've got a lot to do before it's usably operational, but TinyCore is ridiculously lightweight!

dcopellino

05 Sep 2020, 12:26

Hello and welcome Given. It's a joy to know that this board is also attended by young people and not only by old nostalgics from IBM times gone, like me.... But maybe I'm depreciating myself too much. LOL
I'am looking forward to knowing which rare keyboards you'll publish on the wiki.
Ciao

Redmaus
Gotta start somewhere

05 Sep 2020, 16:14

Welcome, always glad to see new members. I've been using Manjaro for awhile and have been loving it. Great UI and aesthetic.

Photography and programming will go very well with keyboarding :P

hellothere

05 Sep 2020, 16:54

Howdy! And big thanks for wanting to contribute to the Wiki.