Studying when you're an international student

qukezy

01 Feb 2022, 10:59

I'm an ESL student and I decided to enter college in USA because it gives me more opportunities for development. I can't say it's too hard for me, I do well in college, but sometimes I face difficulties with writing papers. To be exact, I can't identify and correct mistakes, and I mean not only spelling and grammar. I spend a lot of time on learning various sources of information, but I progress slowly. How do you usually deal with editing?

Muirium
µ

01 Feb 2022, 12:15

Try the same things you do when writing, reading, editing and thinking in your first language. (Which I'm hoping isn't spam!)

fohat
Elder Messenger

01 Feb 2022, 15:50

To be fair, English is a difficult language since it has been stitched together from various northern European languages over the millennia.

That said, my ex-wife has been a magazine editor for decades and her career has literally been re-re-re-working what is in front of her.

qukezy

04 Feb 2022, 12:23

Muirium wrote:
01 Feb 2022, 12:15
Try the same things you do when writing, reading, editing and thinking in your first language. (Which I'm hoping isn't spam!)
A good tip! What do you mean by spam? For me it's a bunch of senseless messages or comments with links to scam services and nothing more. My message hardly resembles any of those I mentioned.

Muirium
µ

04 Feb 2022, 12:27

You're right. It is.

Almost all the spam regularly posted here comes as *edits* to existing messages. The spammer has some favourite topics (copy pasted from elsewhere), including "mechanical mice" and writing college papers. These posts are then stealthily edited later, when no one's looking, to add the spam links. You had me and Kbdfr triggered, that's all. ;)

qukezy

04 Feb 2022, 12:59

Muirium wrote:
04 Feb 2022, 12:27
You're right. It is.