Recommendation needed - quiet mechanical for Model M user

swechsler

22 Feb 2019, 19:57

I just moved to a new job that has an open office layout. I've been using Model Ms since the late 1980s almost exclusively, so it's what I'm used to, but it's no longer an option. I'm looking for a quieter, relatively inexpensive mech keyboard. Only requirement is a standard 103 key layout; USB is preferable but I can use an adapter if PS/2 is the only option. I'm assuming I'll need to go with brown switches now, but I'm open to all suggestions.

Thanks!

fohat
Elder Messenger

22 Feb 2019, 21:17

IBMs replacement for the Model M was the KB-8923 and that is what I use at work.
It is very sturdy and is one of the best rubber domes around. You can also get it in black.

Hypersphere

22 Feb 2019, 22:43

swechsler wrote:
22 Feb 2019, 19:57
I just moved to a new job that has an open office layout. I've been using Model Ms since the late 1980s almost exclusively, so it's what I'm used to, but it's no longer an option. I'm looking for a quieter, relatively inexpensive mech keyboard. Only requirement is a standard 103 key layout; USB is preferable but I can use an adapter if PS/2 is the only option. I'm assuming I'll need to go with brown switches now, but I'm open to all suggestions.

Thanks!
Cherry mx brown switches are tactile non-clicky, but they have bottoming-out and return-clack noise. There are Cherry-switch keyboards available with the newer Cherry silent switches -- these are linear red or black.

Cherry switches and their various clones are my least favorite type, but among these, I rather like Zeal PC "Zilent" switches. These are nicely tactile non-clicky and silenced on both the downstroke and return stroke. Unfortunately, as far as I know, these are only available for sale as "loose switches" for installation yourself in a custom DIY keyboard.

My all-time favorite quiet switch is silenced Topre, but boards with these switches are very expensive.