Industrial Design student needs help with a short, anonymous survey!

nalf_

16 Oct 2019, 06:37

Hello Deskthority,

My name is Nathanial Fair, and I am an industrial design student at the University of Alberta in Canada. I got into keyboards this summer, and now I am doing a design project in the area of mechanical keyboards. To help my work, I have written up a quick survey that should only take around 2 minutes to complete. It is completely anonymous and intended for student use. For general interest I will post the results once data has been collected. I have also posted this to Geekhack, r/mk, and Keebtalk as to get an overview of the enthusiast community.

https://forms.gle/1potc6aFyRYWpHNR7

I am also looking for one or two people to interview over the phone. I am hoping to interview someone who owns a lot of boards and keysets to better understand the wants and needs of people at the high-investment end of the keyboard hobby. If you would like, I can keep you completely anonymous, and just as with my survey this is intended for student use. Please feel free to comment or pm me if you would be interested in being interviewed. :)

Thanks DT :)

mr_a500

16 Oct 2019, 13:52

For your question "What factor was the biggest driver to you getting your first mechanical keyboard?", you should have something like "It came with the computer". There was a time when nearly every computer came with a mechanical keyboard. I never even saw a non-mechanical keyboard until the 90's. (...except the Atari 400 and that awful Sinclair ZX81)

fohat
Elder Messenger

16 Oct 2019, 14:08

Purpose of survey seems unclear.

Questions about "what characteristics do you want in your keyboard" or "what is important to you" or "how do you use the keyboard" seem to be missing.

And especially here on DT, "Do you prefer modern or vintage keyboards, and why?" might be informative.

sharktastica

16 Oct 2019, 17:11