Reproducing Alps Keycaps (IC)

treeleaf64

23 Jan 2020, 02:22

Hi, not sure where to post this as I am new to Deskthority (I spend a lot of time on Geekhack).

I am interested in making reasonably thick Alps dyesubs. I don't think Tai-Hao quality should be the standard, nor should people be satisfied with Signature Plastics. My keycaps will look presentable on modern Alps builds, while still being able to look good with vintage boards.

I need to check if any of you are interested in such a product. I am planning to start with two basic sets, black on beige (since most vintage boards are beige instead of white), and white on grey.

I am very new to keycap design, and I will need some help to further my vision. Please send me a PM here or on Geekhack; my username is the same on both platforms (treeleaf64).

Best wishes,
treeleaf64
Last edited by treeleaf64 on 23 Jan 2020, 18:43, edited 1 time in total.

Man_In_Blue

23 Jan 2020, 02:24

I am happy to work on talking with manus. Signature plastics does still have alps molds.

treeleaf64

23 Jan 2020, 02:26

Thank you for the support! If you have any tips, please let me know. I'm a total noob. :D

TheInverseKey

23 Jan 2020, 03:02

Just some questions:
What profile would you do?
What stabs are you going to use for all caps?

treeleaf64

23 Jan 2020, 03:34

AT101 Alps profile. For stabs, MX mount/Matias are probably the best option. I will have to do more research on that, and ask around to see if there are any other choices.

Edit: Alps mount looks like the way to go. It will have to be determined by where the keycaps go, and if they are going to be added to modern or vintage boards.

Elrick

23 Jan 2020, 03:56

treeleaf64 wrote:
AT101 Alps profile. For stabs, MX mount/Matias are probably the best option. I will have to do more research on that, and ask around to see if there are any other choices.