What Cherry MX emulates Alps Amber?

jeremyschultz

04 Sep 2020, 15:22

I'm picking out a Durgod Fusion keyboard and want to emulate the Alps Amber switches found in Apple computers like the IIc:

wiki/Alps_SKCM_Amber

MX black, blue, brown and red are available for the Fusion but it's hard to tell from reading forums which key is most like it. There's no clear-cut answer, but knowing what the community would pick would be helpful. It's my first time really digging into key switch differences and I'm trying to emulate the 80s experience so some guidance would be helpful. I initially planned to use MX Blue but wanted to be sure.

Jeremy

zrrion

04 Sep 2020, 15:27

Due to differences in mechanism, none of the MX switches are really comparable. Blues are clicky, which is the closest you'll get with purely MX switches but it is not very close in feel or sound tbh. If you are willing to go with aftermarket switches then I would suggest one of the box click bar switches as that will be a lot closer but still not exactly what you get with ambers.

jeremyschultz

04 Sep 2020, 15:52

The closest match is fine at this point. Maybe I can modify the keyboard later but for now the Fusion comes with one of those four MX switches and I just wanted the best match to those Apple keyboards from the 80s.

Jeremy

mode1ace

04 Sep 2020, 23:30

Blue, but, they will be very disappointing, in your shoes I’d swap in some box jades or navies. that’s as close as you’re going to get, but it won’t be much like ambers.
Last edited by mode1ace on 05 Sep 2020, 09:01, edited 1 time in total.

hellothere

05 Sep 2020, 00:18

jeremyschultz wrote:
04 Sep 2020, 15:52
The closest match is fine at this point. Maybe I can modify the keyboard later but for now the Fusion comes with one of those four MX switches and I just wanted the best match to those Apple keyboards from the 80s.

Jeremy