hi friends , sorry but total newbie question

danix_danox

15 Nov 2020, 20:13

i want to build custom shape keybord with custom sized 3d printed capkeys , its for college projest , i am dealing only the design part(product design student) . not so elctronic friendly...
, i was think to use amoeba pcb with brown cherry mx switches
my questions is do i need only to buy the amoeba pcb`s from here
https://keeb.io/products/amoeba-single-switch-pcbs
and to hand hire them to the cherry switches and to each other .
and after that i connect them to the teensy 2.0 ( https://www.amazon.com/Swiftflying-Deve ... B077TQD5HB )
and from teensy to the pc .
did i forgot somthing?
is it sould simply work ?

vvp

15 Nov 2020, 23:56

If you are dealing with design part only then do not bother yourself with internals like PCBs, controllers and how it might look inside the case. Make the part you are responsible for: the outside design/look of the keyboard. Let the rest to the students which study electronics. If you are supposed to take care also about the internal shape of the keyboard case then get the requirements for it from the students doing the electronics. First you provide them with the outside shape. They will tell you whether they can fit electronics in or not. If they can fit it in then they will give you requirements for the mounting points etc. If they cannot fit then you will need to redesign to give them more space.

Do not do electronics at all as part of your assignment. Talk to your teachers if they think you should do it. I hope your teachers are reasonable enough not to force you into electronics when you study design. It would be too much work doing also electronics when you do not know/study it and when it is only a school assignment.

danix_danox

22 Nov 2020, 01:15

i only do design , but its my project
so even for electronic part , its my job ,
i was think to hire some freelancer , but even so i prefer to understand what to ask for

vvp

23 Nov 2020, 13:14