Intro+My Keyboards+Advice request from the experienced

Finners

27 Mar 2021, 21:59

Hi all

I am relatively new to the hobby and have a few Keyboards to my name :

A Matias Quiet Pro (daily driver) a Varmillo with linear switches, a topre clone (Abko). Enroute to me in the mail are both a Focus 7000P and a Packard Bell 5130, probably travelling across the Atlantic right now (I’m in Ireland).

I am not a gamer, just love typing on quality keyboards, and most of my typing involves my work. Working from home has really allowed me to open up into the hobby a lot more as I need not worry about disrupting colleagues with clicky switches, although on conference calls it can prove challenging hence I stick with my Matias quiet clicks as my daily driver.

Looking for advice from those of you who are in this hobby many years;

I have been hugely influenced by Chyrosran22 ‘s YT videos, but interested in learning more from other sources as to what are some great keyboards that have not been driven up in price from YT reviews!! (Clearly a buckling spring is missing from my collection)

PS don’t get me wrong on Chyrosran22 ; I find him entertaining and he definitely has been right on the money with recommendations so far (hence my Matias purchase, I would never had tried the board otherwise).

motoko

27 Mar 2021, 22:10

Well, all vintage boards that he gives good reviews to have clearly seen massive price inflation! So the only ones that haven't would be those that aren't so good. Maybe you'd like to try an AEK II M3501 with dampened Alps switches - the price usually keeps stable cause people pay more for M0116s and M0115s, or use push to talk when using your mic. The new Unicomp Mini M is sold at retail, and offers good value, IMO.

Palatino

27 Mar 2021, 23:23