Arthritis - Which layout and switches (need help)

GuilleAcoustic

24 Jun 2021, 10:11

Hi,

I'm trying to short list everything I'll need to build a custom keeb and here's what I've narrowed down for the switches (in no order):
  • Gateron Clear (very light, but I do have very light fingers too)
  • Gateron Yellow
  • Novekeys Clear (requires lubing from what I've read)
  • Everglides Aqua King
  • Durock L7 (cheaper alternative to Alpacas)
What do you think about it ? Any other recommandations ?

I've been diagnosed with fingers arthritis (all except thumbs) and heavy switches are just too tiring. I'm a software engineer and as such type quite a lot. As mentioned, I do have very delicate / light fingers (I never bottom out) so I don't think that ultra light switches will be an issue.

About the size / layout, that's another problem I must solve. I've been using a 60% HHKB-esque keyboard for years (Apple M0110) so I'm leaning toward that again, but I'm opened to split / columns staggered layout. I'm also AZERTY (french) and QWERTY (ANSI US intl) fluent, so learning a new one is no issue (Workman, Colemark, etc).

Here's what I've been looking into:
  • Tofu60/65
  • Corne
  • Reviung 39/41
  • Dactyl / Skeletyl
If you have any advise or suggestion that could help to have a less strefull setup .... I'd greatly appreciate :D

ps¹: Price wise, I'd like to stay within reasonable budget (300€ max before keycaps)
ps²: I can solder and program if required.

ntv242ver2

24 Jun 2021, 17:49

Seems like with the introduction of gmmk pro and keychron q1, you can put those tofu 60/65 into the casket already

vvp

25 Jun 2021, 09:51

I would go with a split contoured keyboard. Dactyl sounds ok. But you can save time (and probably also money) with e.g. Kinesis Advantage.
You do not need to move fingers much with a contoured keyboard. But you can type with thumbs only (two finger typing) on a flat keybaord :-/