What happens when your "White Whale" disappoints?

hellothere

23 Jul 2021, 20:26

I've been pining over the IBM 5576 and P70/75 for around two years, ever since I found Chyros' YouTube channel. I loved the sound. Hearing that it also was a really decent keyboard kinda solidified my desire to get one.

So, I finally got one. It was expensive. It was from overseas. It just needed some cleaning (and I'll probably retr0bright the top case) and two switches, which I already had. It's also PS/2, so plug and play!

It's a nice keyboard. Better than an M or F. I can deal with the Japanese characters. I can get a Hasu converter if I want to do some more advanced key mapping.

But it's not for me. I've got a Topre that I like more. I've got a SteelSeries Apex pro that I like more. I have a brown Alps keyboard that I like more.

I have a couple KBs I'd like to try, but no whales in sight. Counsel, me, Deskthority! What should I do?

robo

23 Jul 2021, 20:32

The answer lies within you.

Johnbo

23 Jul 2021, 20:41

I had almost the exact same experience with mine, FWIW. I definitely like it, it's a very interesting, unique feeling switch and I'm glad it's in my collection for sure. It's just not exactly the "basically a beamspring battleship" I had built it up to be in my head lol. Oh well, certainly a fine board and I will enjoy using it here and there.

I did discover that, as far as I can tell, mine outputs null (0) scancodes for some of the switches though, which kinda sucks. I think it means I'll have to bypass the keyboard's guts entirely and directly map the matrix to a teensy ++ or something. I dunno, like you said it's not the divine transcendence experience I was hoping for so it's not exactly high on my list to do lol. I can at least still kinda use the alpha block to type on here and there if I want.

Weezer

23 Jul 2021, 22:11

I mean if you don't enjoy something then you sell it.

Yasu0

23 Jul 2021, 23:50

1. Sell it for a profit.
2. Buy a vintage scooter.