IBM Model F XT 83-key won't come to life

strangeling

05 May 2022, 20:18

Hey y'all! I am completely new to this, in fact I am thinking I might be over my head.

I found an old Model F XT on ebay, they said they weren't sure if it worked because they couldn't connect it to their computer to test it themselves. But it looked to be in decent condition.

I found this post: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8448 and thought I'd give it a try.

I believe I've got the Pro Micro successfully flashed with v1.12 of Soarer's converter and it shows in Windows as Soarer's every time now. At first, after wiring the DIN 5, no light would show on the Pro Micro so I bridged the jumper as per some comments on that post and it finally started to recognize SOMETHING in my computer, while wired to the keyboard.

However, no matter what firmware I've tried, it seems like none of the keys are responsive whatsoever. And I am not sure if I got a dud or am missing something. Please forgive me for being not well versed in everything, I've been working my butt off but I started to get overwhelmed and thought maybe someone might be kind enough to share their expertise.

I've since tried Arakula's Soarer_at2usb_v1.12_atmega32u4_ProMicro_Reset.zip, then Soarer's Soarer_Controller_v1.20_beta4_atmega32u4.hex, then Hasu's ibmpc_usb_atmega32u4.hex (from TMK GH, not sure if that's a different thing), then tried a random firmware that seemed related to my keyboard and pro micro, xt_usb_lufa.hex.

I didn't solder each wire, I tightly twist/wrapped them and I figured that was enough for now at least because the little LED would not work/light until all connections were simultaneously tight. But I could be wrong.

I also tried unplugging and re-securing the internal black connector to the main board after taking off the back plate. I tried tightening the bolt to the pcb. I also tried the ground wire thing and made sure it was secure around one of the two main screws on the back plate.

My hid_listen shows: