Existence of aftermarket Model M shells?

ArtyomTheMetroHopper

22 Nov 2022, 11:35

Hey everyone!

I am fairly new to the keyboard scene and have been exploring the world of IBM recently, more specifically, the aftermarket for their boards. I have just finished adding my new unicomp keycaps to my Model M and I got thinking if there was any other vendors other than unicomp that did runs of IBM parts, particularly shells/cases past or present.

I am aware of the efforts of the new Model F project these past few years that have made new shells for Model F's and that unicomp can potentially sell the black shells for their new Model M's individually, but haven't seen much aftermarket support beyond that. So my question is there any aftermarket shells out in the wild? Or will I have to resort to painting my pre-existing pearl shell a different tone of grey.

I apologize in advance if this is not the right place in the forum to post such a question!

Muirium
µ

22 Nov 2022, 13:36

Welcome to the forum and to modding IBM.

As far as I know, you are indeed limited to painting what you've already got, or similar used parts. I myself would be wary to repaint a particularly nice case, if that's what you have, and I'd try to find a scuffed up alternative to mod. But then again, some people pull off really nice spray jobs on their rare IBMs, let alone the common stuff.

Ellipse is definitely worth considering if you want fancy caps. His remakes are vintage 80s IBM quality—with occasionally iffy fit, as I gather—which is a cut above current era Unicomp. His keyboards don't tempt me (typing this on my Kishsaver) but his caps do…

ArtyomTheMetroHopper

22 Nov 2022, 15:00