Am i hallucinating?

kevinzone

03 Sep 2014, 22:11

So i got a new G710+ , mainly due to it being on sale , i soon realized after playing CS GO for a while, that my wasd region and some surrounding keys are quite a bit stiffer than the other side of the keyboard . For example my "b,n,m" keys are light in comparision to wasd. I've had this keyboard for about a week. So im wondering , is this due to my extensive play time on cs go - mashing the wasd region or is it the keyboard's fault and i should return this .

Btw, i also removed the o rings on the keyboard, because it just feels better without them . I'm also a noob when it comes to keyboards so bear with me :D

Halvar

03 Sep 2014, 22:29

Welcome to DT!

Extensive use on a new keyboard should make the keys lighter if anything. So if they're really stiffer and the board is new I would in fact return it.

If you think the difference is not obvious enough or you want to document it before returning it, you can "measure" the force that's needed to activate a certain key by slowly stacking small coins on it one by one until it activates. Repeat a few times, and don't drop the coins on from a height.

the1onewolf

04 Sep 2014, 00:18

I think Logitech is going to release a new keyboard very soon.
So ;)

kevinzone

04 Sep 2014, 02:49

Halvar wrote: Welcome to DT!

Extensive use on a new keyboard should make the keys lighter if anything. So if they're really stiffer and the board is new I would in fact return it.
Really? I thought it was like any other button , where extensive use over time would make it stiffer. Alright, im going to hopefully try to exchange it soon at my retail store, do you think this is good enough reason to be able to get an exchange? because it is technically a defect, right?

noesc

04 Sep 2014, 06:21

I would recommend you to do as Halvar said, things as grams of pressure can be very tricky to measure just by feel.