Topre Realforce 103U-UW First Impressions

jbl

11 Feb 2011, 03:07

Things have been fairly rough at work and my personal life, so coming home to a new keyboard was something of a refresher. After using a Cherry MX brown keyboard at home for a few weeks, I decided that I really needed to get a new keyboard to use at the office. Since I work in an open plan office, loud-ish keyboards would probably not go over well. With that in mind, I decided to give the Topre Realforce a try.

I originally wanted to get a tenkeyless version, but EliteKeyboards' special on the 103U-UW was hard to pass up. My first reaction before trying the keys was that the keyboard felt really well put together. There is not a lot of wiggle to the keys and the board itself doesn't move around on the desk. There's also no discernable flex while typing, unlike the Dell membrane keyboard I've been using at work for the last three years. I think that thing might just be tired out.

Typing, I have to admit that the Topre feels a lot like the Sun Type 5c that I used to use. It has the same sort of smooth key action, but with a bit more snap on the return. The Topre also requires a bit more force than the Sun and feels like it takes a bit more energy than my MX brown board. The variable weighting feels great on my left hand, but the right side of the alpha keys seem more heavily weighted. My right hand seems to be getting tired faster than my left.

Key legends are pleasing to my eye, except for some of the auxiliary keys like "Page Up" and "Insert". The font on those looks compressed in a way that the legends on the rest of the keys aren't. The dye sub labels are crisp. Indicator LEDs are pleasant and not overdone. In terms of layout, the only thing that I could ask for are Macintosh specific key legends for alt and command.