[IC] GMK Lazurite | RAMA Artisan & Box Art | GB: Feb. 12, 2021

jaekeyed

03 Jan 2021, 14:57

GMK Lazurite, an allusion to High Renaissance art and the value of the pigment ultramarine

Hello everyone! This keycap set is inspired by my curiosity about the color 'blue' and my love for Renaissance art. This is my first time designing a keycap set so please bear with me.

'Blue' was an extremely expensive pigment in ancient times. In order to create this pigment, painters had to grind up the semi-precious stone lapis lazuli, and turn it into ultramarine , a deep blue pigment priced at the same value as gold during the Renaissance period. Ultramarine came from Latin "ultra marinus" which means "beyond the sea" as the lapis lazuli required to create the pigment is imported from Badakhshan, Afghanistan. Because of this, the pigment was only used for the most important subjects of paintings in Europe at the time. It became the hallmark of Renaissance paintings created by many historical painters of that period.

Latest Updates:

02/10/21

-Since we are still waiting for the price quotes from GMK/UNIQEY, we will be rescheduling the GB date for GMK Lazurite. We don't want to rush things and this will also help us prepare everything with breathing room before the actual dates. I am in constant communication with vendors, collaborators and everyone involved in this project.
-While there are things not going according to the initial plan, there is still great news for everyone, we will make sure the community is satisfied with the group buy (GIVEAWAY/S) on their way. ;)
-Get more updates and info about the set from the discord server: https://discord.gg/ge25mZAgMz
-To cap this update, let me put the spotlight to these amazing artisan keycaps by another talented artisan from Korea, Namong (he was referred by Sandun and he finished this right away while keeping them clean, it's astounding, hands down to this great artist!)
Check his other works HERE

Namong Keycaps x GMK Lazurite