Victor 9000 keyboard conversion

snacksthecat
✶✶✶✶

30 Oct 2018, 02:56

Hi Guys,
I got a Victor 9000 keyboard that I get to play around with.

First, some photos of the board:

I'm not experienced with capacitive sensing, would this be a candidate for an xwhatsit?

The other approach I could take is to tackle the protocol. It's explained in surprising detail in the techref:

http://www.bitsavers.org/pdf/victor/vic ... _Jun82.pdf

What do you guys think?

Muirium
µ

30 Oct 2018, 10:06

Well documented indeed. All it doesn’t give is a chart of the keys’ 7-bit values (presumably ASCII based with exceptions for the function keys and such) and the pinout / voltages. It could be a great project for a first time converter designer!

Note that it gives separate make and break codes (key down vs. key released) and so should be NKRO by my understanding. I’d seriously keep the original controller in there and investigate.

snacksthecat
✶✶✶✶

30 Oct 2018, 15:25

Thanks for the input, Mu. I'm definitely up to the challenge (or at least to dip my toes in the water).

I think I've got the pinout right. Vcc and Gnd were easy enough to trace. For the others, I'm relying on my interpretation of the maintenance schematic

Does my pinout jive with the schematic? Or is it not enough information to tell?

As for the signalling, I unfortunately don't immediately get anything when plugging into the logic analyzer and hitting some keys. I think this piece from the techref explains why:

So it sounds like I need to figure out how to use the RDY and ACK lines to get the keyboard to send me some stuff over the DATA line. No clue what the keyboard is expecting me to do though. It's not clear from the description if I'm supposed to send a byte, pull the line low, do a funny dance, etc. :lol:

snacksthecat
✶✶✶✶

30 Oct 2018, 15:49

Wow it's explained even better deeper into the techref:

Gives me a few things to try but I still think I'm in over my head a bit.

Muirium
µ

30 Oct 2018, 15:57