Seeking Soarer - evidence thread

esr

25 May 2021, 21:41

Various works by Soarer that are important to this community are distributed only in binary form. Soarer vanished around 2014. Which is a problem, because Soarer's hex blobs cannot be debugged or improved.

I am a relative newbie here on DT, but I've been a tactile-keyboard enthusiast for a long time. Some of you may remember the Tactile Keyboards community I ran on G++ before Google let G++ die. Before that I was the founding president of the Open Source Initiative; as such, I have a lot of experience wrestling with IP law. I also have skin in the game, as I'm using a Soarer's Converter on a Model F and the fact that I can't mod the code makes me twitchy.

Soarer has now been disappeared for over 7 years, which would be sufficient time in most relevant jurisdictions for a declaratory judgment that he is legally dead. Soarer's binary code has been decompiled. It's time to clear up the murk around Soarer's code and create circumstances under which his work can be carried forward using the decompiled source issued under a proper open-source license.

I believe this can be done at low cost and risk, and have assembled some help in doing so - an attorney and an IP compliance officer at a hyperscale Internet company. I'll let them introduce themselves when they deem it appropriate.

First, though, we need to publicly assemble a collection of facts. I'm going to list some questions. Some of these have answers which have been communicated to me privately; some do not. These are questions we need to answer in public and on the record to document the good-faith effort that Anglo-American law requires in situations resembling this one.