Page 1 of 1

Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 05 Oct 2022, 01:24
by apastuszak
I want to create a macro that will type certain phrases out, such as Thank You!, but typing:

MAKE LSHIFT
PRESS T
BREAK LSHIFT
PRESS H
PRESS A
...

is really getting old, especially when I want to set up a half dozen of these things.

Does anyone have a script that will let me enter a phrase and spit out a completed macro block I can just copy and paste into my sc file?

I'm sure I can bang something out in Python this evening, but why reinvent the wheel?

If no one has one, and would like a copy of whatever I come up with, let me know.

Re: Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 05 Oct 2022, 19:37
by Muirium
Specifically for typing (pass)words? ;)

I’ve moved all my macros into Karabiner but something like this would have been useful back when I did much the same in Soarer.

Re: Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 05 Oct 2022, 20:50
by apastuszak
This is a work computer. I am not allowed to run anything like Karabiner or AutoHotKey. So, I need a hardware-based solution, like a Soarer's Converter.

I guess I am writing a script for myself.

Re: Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 05 Oct 2022, 21:05
by Muirium
Yep.

I did a few of these but not enough to put on the long wellies and wade into scripting. Regex is g(ob)|di:gūk to me else I’d have done it.

Re: Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 06 Oct 2022, 01:41
by jsheradin
Something like this should work (I haven't tried it though):

Code: Select all

for char in input():
    if char.isupper():
        print("MAKE LSHIFT\nPRESS " + char + "\nBREAK LSHIFT")
    elif char == " ":
        print("PRESS SPACE")
    else:
        print("PRESS " + char)
You'd need a catch case for anything that's not a letter but you get the idea.

Re: Does anyone have a script to make Soarer's Converter Macros

Posted: 06 Oct 2022, 03:21
by apastuszak
So, I learned something useful. My macro was triggered when I pressed RSHIFT and F1. Well, the caused the characters in the macro to type out as if I was holding the shift key down. To this, the first line in the macro has to be BREAK RSHIFT.

Has the same problem with macros to launch applications. LSHIFT + F3 would launch an app, by pressing LGUI waiting 100, breaking LGUI and typing the name of the application and pressing ENTER. Could not figure out why it wasn't working.