Converting G80-11900 Touchboard to bluetooth?

browncow

25 Nov 2022, 21:05

Hey there. I recently got my hands on one of these cherry G80 boards with built in touchpad. Except the switches which i don't like, the reason i went for this board is to use it in a couch-computer situation because of the touchpad. However the ps/2 interface for this use is less than ideal. I want to convert this board to some sort of wireless interface, be it bluetooth or some other wireless radio.
I figured a slim li-po battery would fit inside the board in one place. Because cherry doesnt use a switchplate, instead, the PCB is supported on plastic extrusions that go along the entire bottom of the case, space is limited! So the electronics would have to be compact. something like a pro micro would fit. I plan to replace the original cable with a charging jack, not to modify the case in any way. How would you guys go about such a ps2>wireless conversion? Hardware and software wise, i am completely new to this. Any ideas will be helpful! :roll:

Findecanor

25 Nov 2022, 21:22

There exist Bluetooth adaptors for keyboards, but I dunno if they support both keyboard and trackpad.
Too bad that you got a PS/2 keyboard: there are USB versions of the G80-11900 also.If you don't have one of those then you'd also need to also put a PS/2-to-USB converter in there.

Know also that the trackpad is an old type that emulates a two-button mouse. There is no two-finger scroll, pinch-to-zoom or anything like that.

browncow

25 Nov 2022, 21:26

Findecanor wrote:
25 Nov 2022, 21:22
There exist Bluetooth adaptors for keyboards, but I dunno if they support both keyboard and trackpad.
Too bad that you got a PS/2 keyboard: there are USB versions of the G80-11900 also.If you don't have one of those then you'd also need to also put a PS/2-to-USB converter in there.

Know also that the trackpad is an old type that emulates a two-button mouse. There is no two-finger scroll, pinch-to-zoom or anything like that.