Recycle cheap qpad steel plate(1mm)

I bought a QPad Board with blue cherries to harvest the switches. Now the 1mm thick(!!!) steel plate which is pretty rigid lies in front of me and my brain doesn't stop tinkering with it. To good for trash to thin to use. The switches keep moving around. Now I wonder if there are some kind of clips or something to put them under the switches. Before I disassmbled it the switches were fixed by the pcb. But I can't use that, I need a teensy to run tmk on it...
Maybe I really should trash it, anyway...
pfoff

Unread post15 Mar 2017, 13:03

X
pfoff
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jan 2017, 14:08
Location: Germany
Main keyboard: m13 / Lenovo Trackpoint crap
Main mouse: builtinin tp
Favorite switch: cherry mxwhatever
 
Why would you want to harvest cherry blues of all things? They are probably the most readily available discrete keyswitch on the market...
Sigmoid

Unread post16 Mar 2017, 08:52

X
Sigmoid
 
Posts: 144
Joined: 13 Mar 2015, 16:46
Main keyboard: Macbook Pro built-in :P
Main mouse: Kensington Orbit trackball
Favorite switch: Buckling spring
Club member: -
 
Sigmoid: A good discounted mechanical keyboard is cheaper than buying the switches and keycaps separately. A significant disadvantage is that disassembling it takes about an hour or two.

pfoff: I do not know about any clips but you can always glue the switches to the plate.
vvp
User avatar

Unread post16 Mar 2017, 09:20

User avatar
X
vvp
 
Posts: 363
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 12:06
Main keyboard: Katy/K80CS
Main mouse: symetric 5-buttons + wheel
Club member: -
 
A hand-wired keyboard would need glue anyway. Otherwise you'd risk pulling the switch out every time you'd pull a keycap.

Maybe you could thicken the plate with some adhesive-backed vinyl with a nice colour/pattern. The holes could be cut out from the other side with a scalpel/x-acto/boxcutter knife using the plate itself as guide.
This would give you the opportunity to combine the plate with material around it, fill holes without them showing etc. which would be harder with a plate that is not the correct thickness.
Findecanor

Unread post17 Mar 2017, 00:58

X
Findecanor
 
Posts: 2525
Joined: 01 Mar 2011, 20:43
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Main keyboard: Changes from day to day
Main mouse: Wowpen Joy (modified)
Favorite switch: I have yet to find it...
Club member: 0011
 
Yeah, it was much cheaper than switches! And it took less than 20 minutes to get them out.
It think it would need much glue. Think, I will give Findecanors solution a try.
But this looks a lot of work to me!
Need to find a .5mm plate for that!
Thanks for the hint, that I'll need to glue'em anyway. Makes sense. What kind of glue do you guys use?
Would I still be able to open the switches, when glued?
pfoff

Unread post20 Mar 2017, 22:59

X
pfoff
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jan 2017, 14:08
Location: Germany
Main keyboard: m13 / Lenovo Trackpoint crap
Main mouse: builtinin tp
Favorite switch: cherry mxwhatever
 
Alps SKCL/M and SKBL/M are designed for a 1 mm plate. I don't know the various dimensions, but I just checked Siemens STB 11/21 and that's also a 1.5 mm plate.
Daniel Beardsmore
User avatar

Unread post21 Mar 2017, 00:17

User avatar
X
Daniel Beardsmore
 
Posts: 4364
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 18:23
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Main keyboard: Filco Majestouch 1 (home)/Poker II backlit (work)
Main mouse: MS IMO 1.1
Favorite switch: Probably not whatever I wrote here
Club member: -
 
pfoff wrote:Would I still be able to open the switches, when glued?

You couldn't open them anyway, because the tabs that holds the switch together need to move and those are restricted by a standard 14×14 mm plate hole. Only enthusiast-made plates with special cutouts for those tabs allow switches to be opened while mounted.

These tabs are on east and west sides, while the snaps that would snap the switch in the plate are on the north and south sides.
From what I have seen, most builders that hand-wire switches use hot glue on the north and south which would not interfere with the tabs on the east and west sides.
I'm not a fan of hot glue so I have not tried it but I have heard that it could be pried off more easily if alcohol is applied. Be very aware that alcohol could also dissolve paint and lubrication, though ...

I have found an alternative to glue, but it works only for plates with cutouts... Open the switch, mount the bottom into the plate, insert a small piece of plastic card into the diode-slot and reassemble the switch. If the card is of the right size and thickness, it will prevent the snap on that side of the switch from opening and thus prevent the switch from being pulled - fully. The snap on the opposite side can still unsnap from the plate.
Findecanor

Unread post21 Mar 2017, 03:26

X
Findecanor
 
Posts: 2525
Joined: 01 Mar 2011, 20:43
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Main keyboard: Changes from day to day
Main mouse: Wowpen Joy (modified)
Favorite switch: I have yet to find it...
Club member: 0011
 
Daniel Beardsmore wrote:Alps SKCL/M and SKBL/M are designed for a 1 mm plate. I don't know the various dimensions, but I just checked Siemens STB 11/21 and that's also a 1.5 mm plate.

How about SMK switches? They fit into 14×14 mm holes, that are the same dimension as for Cherry MX but I don't know if they require a PCB or if they snap into a plate.
Findecanor

Unread post21 Mar 2017, 03:28

X
Findecanor
 
Posts: 2525
Joined: 01 Mar 2011, 20:43
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Main keyboard: Changes from day to day
Main mouse: Wowpen Joy (modified)
Favorite switch: I have yet to find it...
Club member: 0011
 
I do not care about being able to open the switches after they are mounted. My plate does not have the cutouts to support it anyway.

If you have a thin plate (up to 1.5 mm) then hot glue can work as Findecanor explained.
If you have a thick plate (3-5 mm) then hot glue will not work because there will not be a good way to force it between the plate and the switch. If you find a good way how to force it there then it would work well but I was not able to do it: post181273.html#p181273
Maybe putting hot glue on the slot walls before the switch is inserted and only then insert the switch may work. I did not try this approach.
vvp
User avatar

Unread post21 Mar 2017, 10:24

User avatar
X
vvp
 
Posts: 363
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 12:06
Main keyboard: Katy/K80CS
Main mouse: symetric 5-buttons + wheel
Club member: -
 
Wow, lots of infos!
So I amgoing to try to glue them in. The surface does not seem to be harmed by alcohol, so I'll get'em out.
Gonna let you all know, how it worked. And for my other project I will order a plate that has 1.5mm.
pfoff

Unread post22 Mar 2017, 01:59

X
pfoff
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Jan 2017, 14:08
Location: Germany
Main keyboard: m13 / Lenovo Trackpoint crap
Main mouse: builtinin tp
Favorite switch: cherry mxwhatever
 
Findecanor wrote:How about SMK switches? They fit into 14×14 mm holes, that are the same dimension as for Cherry MX but I don't know if they require a PCB or if they snap into a plate.

I assume you mean the DIN-compliant type, "second generation" or "KKM" or what not.

No schematics have been discovered for any SMK series. They're all plate mount but some second generation switches are also PCB mount too and were often used that way (especially in Laser keyboards). You'd have to get the plate thickness off an existing keyboard. Wait, you had my SMK switch keyboard!
Daniel Beardsmore
User avatar

Unread post22 Mar 2017, 08:21

User avatar
X
Daniel Beardsmore
 
Posts: 4364
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 18:23
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Main keyboard: Filco Majestouch 1 (home)/Poker II backlit (work)
Main mouse: MS IMO 1.1
Favorite switch: Probably not whatever I wrote here
Club member: -
 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cynviloq and 41 guests