[Photos] Happy Hacking Keyboard Pro JP

I made some quick photos of my Happy Hacking Keyboard Pro JP

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I enjoy both versions of HHKB but I think I would choose this over the regular one.

I'm still studying how to make work the dead keys of the JIS layout :ugeek:
guilleguillaume
User avatar

Unread post26 Apr 2012, 18:44

User avatar
X
guilleguillaume
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 10:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro 2
Main mouse: Razer Abyssus 2014
Favorite switch: Topre
Club member: 0014
 
Could you post any DIP manual it has, like the sticker on the bottom side of the original HHKB Pro? And any leaflet or whatever that has any useful info.
woody
Count Troller

Unread post26 Apr 2012, 19:35

X
woody
Count Troller
 
Posts: 447
Joined: 26 Feb 2011, 01:30
Club member: 0069
 
That is a beautiful looking board, and I think it looks fantastic with just the CC keycap, nothing over the top, very jelly :)
GeorgeStorm

Unread post26 Apr 2012, 19:49

X
GeorgeStorm
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 11 Dec 2011, 09:52
Location: UK
Main keyboard: Poker with ergo clears (steel plate and alu case)
Main mouse: Zowie EC1 Evo
Favorite switch: Really not sure :D
 
 
Nice board!

I'm expecting a certain someone to make a comment about the cursor keys any moment now.
Julle
User avatar

Unread post26 Apr 2012, 20:16

User avatar
X
Julle
 
Posts: 321
Joined: 04 Feb 2011, 15:47
Location: Finland
Main keyboard: Matias Mini Quiet Pro
Main mouse: Steelseries Sensei
Favorite switch: Matias Quiet Click
Club member: 0072
 
 
Gutta aquae ab oculo fluens
OK, I'll repeat myself....

Arrows FTW!

Where IS that HHKB3?

Or the Pure for that matter?

I keep telling people I post the same way on DT/GH/OCN/[H]forum...

It's Reddit where I get dirty.
ripster

Unread post26 Apr 2012, 20:54

X
ripster
 
Posts: 4080
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 08:04
Location: Ugly American
Main keyboard: As Long As It is Helvetica
Main mouse: Mickey
Favorite switch: Wanna Switch? Well, I Certainly Did!
 
What does the "HH" key do?
kaiserreich

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 13:35

X
kaiserreich
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 22 May 2011, 05:14
Location: Malaysia
 
Damnit. Now you're making me want a HHKB. Great.
JP ofc.
But I'll happily wait 'till you at least get all those keys/layers working :D

awesome board+cc you got there.
off
User avatar

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 13:54

User avatar
X
off
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 05:32
Location: the crapper, NL, EU
 
 
salt/sambal not included
Where did you get it from?
GeorgeStorm

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 15:25

X
GeorgeStorm
 
Posts: 299
Joined: 11 Dec 2011, 09:52
Location: UK
Main keyboard: Poker with ergo clears (steel plate and alu case)
Main mouse: Zowie EC1 Evo
Favorite switch: Really not sure :D
 
 
woody wrote:Could you post any DIP manual it has, like the sticker on the bottom side of the original HHKB Pro? And any leaflet or whatever that has any useful info.

Will try to do pictures of the back and the box. It explains really well what DIP switches do.
kaiserreich wrote:What does the "HH" key do?

This key acts as the one that send ººººººººººººººº or ªªªªªªªªªªªªªªª. Is the one on the left of Number 1 in the number row in a standar keyboard, I can't remember the name of it

off right now the keys that don't do anything are those:
Image
I've never used Insert key so I don't miss the key near Back Space and the other ones I have to figure out how to recognise the code they send in case they are sending anything.
GeorgeStorm wrote:Where did you get it from?

I bought it from Geekstuff4u
guilleguillaume
User avatar

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 16:36

User avatar
X
guilleguillaume
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 10:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro 2
Main mouse: Razer Abyssus 2014
Favorite switch: Topre
Club member: 0014
 
guilleguillaume wrote:This key acts as the one that send ººººººººººººººº or ªªªªªªªªªªªªªªª. Is the one on the left of Number 1 in the number row in a standar keyboard, I can't remember the name of it :oops:

The tilde '`' key (normally on ansi layout next to '1') does that for you!? :shock: For me it's only ever useful to bring up console in certain games..
guilleguillaume wrote:off right now the keys that don't do anything are those:[pic]
I've never used Insert key so I don't miss the key near Back Space and the other ones I have to figure out how to recognise the code they send in case they are sending anything.

I hate insert with a passion, only ever tap it on accident :/
Until now that is, on my winkeyless mx11800 I've now set it to winkey, much better.
And recognising keys, if you are a windows user it's as easy* as grabbing autohotkey and mucking about; on linux it's supposedly even easier using x's default config files or something.
*unless the keys don't send scancodes like laptop 'fn' keys often do.
Spoiler:
authotkey: install, create a new script document, edit in notepad(++), put at least '#installkeybdhook' in there and something that forces the script to stay active (like "Insert:: send {Space}site:geekhack.org OR site:deskthority.net
"), when it's running, doubleclick the icon in your systemtray, 'view' 'key history and script info', tap the key, press F5, see scancode. '

PS: Your white one is so much sexier than that black one. Especially with that cherry on top. Imvho.
PS2: Wtf, the jap version is actually CHEAPER than the normal one!? :o
PS3: Mind sharing how much you got charged by your government etc?
off
User avatar

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 17:18

User avatar
X
off
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 05:32
Location: the crapper, NL, EU
 
 
salt/sambal not included
You tried xev in linux to get the scancodes?
fossala
User avatar
Elite +1

Unread post27 Apr 2012, 19:52

User avatar
X
fossala
Elite +1
 
Posts: 2730
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 16:25
Location: UK
Main keyboard: HHKB Type-S
Main mouse: Rollermouse Free2
Favorite switch: Topre
 
It has a "bs" key!
dsjbirch

Unread post28 Apr 2012, 12:05

X
dsjbirch
 
Posts: 75
Joined: 26 Mar 2012, 13:23
Location: UK, Stafford
Main keyboard: Poker
Main mouse: R.A.T. contagion
Favorite switch: red
 
They should give the 'HH' key out as standard.
Be a nice replacement for the Fn key
kaiserreich

Unread post28 Apr 2012, 12:48

X
kaiserreich
 
Posts: 174
Joined: 22 May 2011, 05:14
Location: Malaysia
 
kaiserreich wrote:They should give the 'HH' key out as standard.
Be a nice replacement for the Fn key

I've thought that since I first saw the JP.
fossala
User avatar
Elite +1

Unread post28 Apr 2012, 13:29

User avatar
X
fossala
Elite +1
 
Posts: 2730
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 16:25
Location: UK
Main keyboard: HHKB Type-S
Main mouse: Rollermouse Free2
Favorite switch: Topre
 
@guilleguillaume
You need to install Japanese language support on your os to activate those keys.
webwit
User avatar
Wild Duck

Unread post28 Apr 2012, 13:38

User avatar
X
webwit
Wild Duck
 
Posts: 6894
Joined: 28 Jan 2011, 01:27
Location: The Netherlands
Main keyboard: DataHand Pro II
Favorite switch: Buckling spring
Club member: 0000
 
 
2 Comments:

1. A blue Esc key, for when you want to exit something quietly!

2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!
Trent
User avatar

Unread post30 Apr 2012, 19:52

User avatar
X
Trent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: 17 Feb 2012, 16:29
Location: United States
Main keyboard: IBM Model M
 
Trent wrote:2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!

There are 2 unit ones.
rodtang

Unread post30 Apr 2012, 21:34

X
rodtang
 
Posts: 894
Joined: 21 Nov 2011, 14:33
Location: Norway
Main keyboard: Old rubberdome
Main mouse: Logitech Performance MX
 
rodtang wrote:
Trent wrote:2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!

There are 2 unit ones.

How would you even type on that?? Seems like a bit of an excessively compact behavior.
Trent
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 11:10

User avatar
X
Trent
 
Posts: 288
Joined: 17 Feb 2012, 16:29
Location: United States
Main keyboard: IBM Model M
 
Not every language requires a space between words. Spacebar in Japanese is used for changing the hiragana into kanji/katakana. Japanese typists might not use space nearly as often as a westerner would and when they do, it's usually hitting it multiple times to select the appropriate "spelling".
002
User avatar
Topre Enthusiast

Unread post01 May 2012, 11:30

User avatar
X
002
Topre Enthusiast
 
Posts: 1412
Joined: 15 Mar 2011, 01:42
Location: Australia
Main keyboard: Topre REALFORCE 87U [Variable]
Main mouse: Logitech G9
Favorite switch: Topre Capacitive
Club member: 0002
 
 
Tokyo Press
Topre enthusiast
Image
Trent wrote:
rodtang wrote:
Trent wrote:2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!

There are 2 unit ones.
How would you even type on that?? Seems like a bit of an excessively compact behavior.

Why would that not be perfect? I reckon I always hit space within the same two unit area (per hand though; I do use both left and right)..
off
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 13:39

User avatar
X
off
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 05:32
Location: the crapper, NL, EU
 
 
salt/sambal not included
Trent wrote:
rodtang wrote:
Trent wrote:2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!

There are 2 unit ones.

How would you even type on that?? Seems like a bit of an excessively compact behavior.

I don't have any trouble using a 1.5 units key on my Tipro keyboard.

Just remove your space bar and put a 1.5 units key on and give it a try!
7bit
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 14:16

User avatar
X
7bit
 
Posts: 9525
Joined: 01 Feb 2011, 01:37
Location: Berlin, DE
Main keyboard: Tipro / IBM 3270 emulator
Main mouse: Logitech granite for SGI
Favorite switch: MX Lock
Club member: 0001
 
I was actually using a single key on my space for a month (cleaning caps w dental tabs until the lettering wore; caps still yellow :/ ... protip, don't overdo it, and don't do it without sunshine if you're trying to rid of the yellow instead of the filth)
Single key was decent, just a little small (tapping the side ridge is not that comfortable). I think 3u should be perfect for people that use both thumbs, max 4 if you really like spacious space.
off
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 14:32

User avatar
X
off
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 05:32
Location: the crapper, NL, EU
 
 
salt/sambal not included
webwit wrote:@guilleguillaume
You need to install Japanese language support on your os to activate those keys.

I've tried it and it works. Never thought of changing the language to JP :lol:

Every key is working if I use JP and it's funny to change between Hiragana and the standar with just one key. Too bad I don't know Japanese :o

off wrote:[...]
And recognising keys, if you are a windows user it's as easy* as grabbing autohotkey and mucking about; on linux it's supposedly even easier using x's default config files or something.
[...]

PS: Your white one is so much sexier than that black one. Especially with that cherry on top. Imvho.
PS2: Wtf, the jap version is actually CHEAPER than the normal one!? :o
PS3: Mind sharing how much you got charged by your government etc?


I've tried to use Insert on the Fn layer and it works so problem solved.

Been using Autohotkey lately and after trying to figure out the scan codes they only get recognised when the input language is JP as Webwit told me.

Spoiler:
Image


I don't really know if I can make them work in my language input with the number codes, I guess not.

They charged me with 75€ like they did with my Realforce 87U. They don't like me to carry foreigner keyboards :|
Trent wrote:[...]

2. That is the smallest fucking space bar I think I have ever seen!

I love that spacebar. I don't see any reason to have a larger one.
guilleguillaume
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 18:12

User avatar
X
guilleguillaume
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 10:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro 2
Main mouse: Razer Abyssus 2014
Favorite switch: Topre
Club member: 0014
 
Hmm... my Filco Zero JP version maps all those special keys fine:
http://homepages.cwi.nl/~aeb/linux/kbd/scancodes-6.html

;Japanese Keyboard
SC07B::Send "Key Left of Spacebar"
SC079::Send "Key Right of Spacebar"
SC070::Send "Key Left of RALT"
SC073::Send "Key Left of RSHIFT"
SC07D::Send "Key Left of BACKSPACE"
ripster

Unread post01 May 2012, 21:34

X
ripster
 
Posts: 4080
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 08:04
Location: Ugly American
Main keyboard: As Long As It is Helvetica
Main mouse: Mickey
Favorite switch: Wanna Switch? Well, I Certainly Did!
 
What OS do you use ripster?
fossala
User avatar
Elite +1

Unread post01 May 2012, 21:47

User avatar
X
fossala
Elite +1
 
Posts: 2730
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 16:25
Location: UK
Main keyboard: HHKB Type-S
Main mouse: Rollermouse Free2
Favorite switch: Topre
 
W7 64 bit (despite everyones assurance I would never run into 64 bit compatibility problems it DOES happen to me monthly).
ripster

Unread post01 May 2012, 21:57

X
ripster
 
Posts: 4080
Joined: 09 Feb 2011, 08:04
Location: Ugly American
Main keyboard: As Long As It is Helvetica
Main mouse: Mickey
Favorite switch: Wanna Switch? Well, I Certainly Did!
 
What are you using guilleguillaume? Do you have a W$ndows PC somewhere to check it on that?
fossala
User avatar
Elite +1

Unread post01 May 2012, 22:09

User avatar
X
fossala
Elite +1
 
Posts: 2730
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 16:25
Location: UK
Main keyboard: HHKB Type-S
Main mouse: Rollermouse Free2
Favorite switch: Topre
 
I'm also using W7 64 bits and they send the same codes that Ripster wrote... I'm a noob software user :oops:

I supose it's all about binding those codes to something useful now. Will try to do it and then repost my experiences. Thank you all.
guilleguillaume
User avatar

Unread post01 May 2012, 23:03

User avatar
X
guilleguillaume
 
Posts: 725
Joined: 12 Mar 2011, 10:40
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Main keyboard: HHKB Pro 2
Main mouse: Razer Abyssus 2014
Favorite switch: Topre
Club member: 0014
 
Do any of you use Linux or a BSD at all? If so can you tell me what they come up as in that?
fossala
User avatar
Elite +1

Unread post01 May 2012, 23:22

User avatar
X
fossala
Elite +1
 
Posts: 2730
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 16:25
Location: UK
Main keyboard: HHKB Type-S
Main mouse: Rollermouse Free2
Favorite switch: Topre
 
Shameless plug on autohotkey minithread (AFAIcouldfind there wasn't any so I made it).
off
User avatar

Unread post02 May 2012, 11:37

User avatar
X
off
 
Posts: 1498
Joined: 02 Mar 2012, 05:32
Location: the crapper, NL, EU
 
 
salt/sambal not included
Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: joster, Sayso and 9 guests