New Here, Found a keyboard in work, was directed here.

zomgbbq

27 Feb 2015, 04:48

Hey all,
I made a post on /r/mechanicalkeyboards earlier today about a keyboard I found on a spare desk in work.

Reddit was able to identify it, but I'm new to mechs so I'm not exactly sure what I've found.

Someone said it was rare? I'm just looking for some clarification.

Will hopefully be my first mech.

Link to the reddit page
http://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeybo ... idea_what/

Also, after I made this thread on reddit I found a few more of them wedged between some desks

Hope you can help!
Thanks

scottc

27 Feb 2015, 05:07

Hey there and welcome to DT!

The board itself is quite interesting, but the biggest thing for me is that it has some nice double-shot keycaps in UK layout. Doubleshot UK-layout Cherry keycaps are reasonably rare. I don't have any Cherry caps in UK layout as I mostly use US ANSI instead, but if you feel like selling a board then I'd certainly be interested!

It should have Cherry MX black switches, which are the most common switches found in old Cherry Corp boards, but are still pretty nice. They're linear switches, which means that you should feel no resistance during the downstroke until your key "bottoms out".

I don't know anything about the 3112 series specifically, but maybe some Cherry nut will come along and tell us more about that.

Was there anything in particular that you wanted to find out about?

Touch_It

27 Feb 2015, 05:08

I'm certainly no Cherry expert but it looks nice. If you could pop off a keycap it would be easy to tell what switch it uses. Also a pic of the label on the bottom of the keyboard would be very helpful.

scottc

27 Feb 2015, 05:09

Touch_It wrote: I'm certainly no Cherry expert but it looks nice. If you could pop off a keycap it would be easy to tell what switch it uses. Also a pic of the label on the bottom of the keyboard would be very helpful.