Wiring Up Teensy ++

Davsmith4

10 Jul 2015, 21:27

So I am making a 104 key keyboard, 6 rows and 21 colums with 3 leds, and I was wondering what the best way is to hook this up to the Teensy ++. I know that there are some pins you have to avoid on the teeny and I was wondering what ones you are supposed to skip on the teensy ++ and in what order you wire it up. Any advice is helpful. I am a bit new to this kind of thing so im feeling a little worried at this point.

Muirium
µ

10 Jul 2015, 21:54

The Teensy's LED pin is the one to avoid. And the VCC and GND obviously. I think every other pin is fair game. I hooked up a 128 switch matrix to a Teensy 2++ once. 16*8 as I recall. So 16+8 pins. You'll need 27.

What firmware have you got in mind?

Davsmith4

10 Jul 2015, 22:13

Muirium wrote: The Teensy's LED pin is the one to avoid. And the VCC and GND obviously. I think every other pin is fair game. I hooked up a 128 switch matrix to a Teensy 2++ once. 16*8 as I recall. So 16+8 pins. You'll need 27.

What firmware have you got in mind?
I was going to modify tmk's but i might use sorars since it seems more of an elegant solution. Not sure yet. Which do you reccommend more?

Muirium
µ

10 Jul 2015, 22:32

I'm too simple for TMK so I always use Soarer's Controller. (I also use it in my IBM Model M SSK thanks to Phosphorglow's replacement controller.) You can simply define the matrix in a config file. Name the pins you want for rows and columns, and set up the base layer. Elegant indeed, and pre-built for Teensy 2++ among others.

I found Soarer's Controller pretty much effortless because I was already used to his Converter (a sister project for PS/2 etc. to USB conversion for existing controllers). Once you're used to his utilities (scas and scwr for the most part) you're all set.

The downside: Soarer's been inactive for a long time, so no tech support from the man himself and no new features.

Davsmith4

11 Jul 2015, 00:35