Favorite source for keycaps?

zslane

03 Aug 2015, 23:07

Since I'm new to all of this, I only know of two sources of custom keycaps:
  • Signature Plastics
  • Harvesting keycaps from an existing (often vintage) keyboard
Custom keycap sets from SP are expensive, prohibitively so, unless it is part of a group buy, which limits your choices considerably (to say nothing of how long it takes to obtain them). Harvesting keys from existing keyboards is great if an existing keyboard has what you want and you can find one in good condition at a reasonable price (and those keycaps can be successfully transferred to the modern board of your choice). But it seems to me there's got to be more. An entire hobbyist community would not have sprung up around just two source of keycaps, would it?

So apart from those two sources, where else do people around here turn for custom keycaps?

Muirium
µ

03 Aug 2015, 23:09

IBM.

seebart
Offtopicthority Instigator

03 Aug 2015, 23:20

They should look at Micro Switch...even though you really already mentioned that. ;)

http://deskthority.net/keyboards-f2/mic ... 11231.html

zslane

03 Aug 2015, 23:34

I probably should also have mentioned WASD. You have very limited color choices for the keycap shells (only eleven) and only one profile (OEM), one material (ABS), and one printing method (pad printing + UV coating), but you can specify anything you want for surface/legend text/graphics in any color. Plus the keys are guaranteed to conform to contemporary keyboard layout standards.

But in terms of variety of keycap profiles, materials, printing methods, and color options, does Signature Plastics have any competition?

Muirium
µ

04 Aug 2015, 00:44

You're talking exclusively about MX caps, right? Because ignoring all the other keyboards out there answers your secondary question:
zslane wrote: An entire hobbyist community would not have sprung up around just two source of keycaps, would it?