Unicomp Legends

emdude
Model M Apologist

30 Jan 2016, 04:35

I'm pretty new to mechanical keyboards and buckling springs in general, but after getting a Model M a while back, I also HAD to get RGB modifier key caps from Unicomp, my first purchase from them!

But when they actually came..
Spoiler:
Yikes, those off-center legends! :(

I should have known though, having read about the quality of their key caps. Fortunately, what has been said about their customer service was also right and they were kind enough to send me a replacement set (which is still on its way here).

Their customer service rep also told me that the legends were "hand copy and pasted," which I thought was fascinating.. But I wonder who did the keys I got.. :?

Does anyone else have have experience with their customer service when it came to issues like this?

Redmaus
Gotta start somewhere

30 Jan 2016, 04:39

To be honest it seems like they really don't care.

I only say that from stories I have heard from others. I haven't really had any personal experience.

And those legends look embarrassingly bad. How you could look at that and think its fit for sale baffles me.

Muirium
µ

30 Jan 2016, 04:40

Crap. Now you've got me worried about the 12 or so RGB sets in my GB!

Round 1:
post273568.html#p273568

Round 2:
post281529.html#p281529

Trouble is, I'm based abroad, and will be away again too soon to get anything swapped out by Unicomp. So worrying won't achieve much…

emdude
Model M Apologist

30 Jan 2016, 04:58

Redmaus wrote: To be honest it seems like they really don't care.

I only say that from stories I have heard from others. I haven't really had any personal experience.

And those legends look embarrassingly bad. How you could look at that and think its fit for sale baffles me.
Well, I plan to get blank key caps from them at some point, so at least then I won't have to worry about the variability of how their legends are done, which I've read quite a bit about..

Muirium
µ