Retouching the plastic of the Model F

Cattus_D

28 Sep 2016, 23:33

Hi guys,

I've been lurking here for a while. I'm very interested in mechanical keyboards - although I reckon this doesn't surprise you as this is a forum for mechanical keyboard enthusiasts. :-)

I'm a lecturer and literary historian by trade, which means I spend a lot of time sitting behind a computer. At work I'm forced to use an HP KU-0316 rubberdome keyboard; at home, though, I usually type on a Model M.

Yet I digress...

I recently purchased a Model F, which I disassembled, cleaned and put back together. I noticed when I rubbed away at the top shell with some alcohol (it was rather grimy) that some of the top layer came off. Being used to the Model M, I didn't realise at first that the plastic had been painted and that I was, in fact, taking off some of the paint. To be honest, the keyboard looks better than before, but I do wonder if I might retouch some of the spots that have become lighter with a bit of paint. Have any of you guys tried doing something of this kind?

Many thanks in advance!

fohat
Elder Messenger

29 Sep 2016, 00:09

I have always avoided touching up the surface.

The Model M case material is vastly superior to the Model F's, the only characteristic of the M that is better, in my opinion, being softer yet tougher and a single layer all the way through.

I have always felt that the F case has a "core" layer that is shiny and whiter, and a "skin" layer that is textured and slightly darker in tone. That "skin" layer will wear, chip, and peel eventually under use and abuse.

Personally, I have "just lived with it" because I am afraid that any attempt at "repair" would only draw attention to the problem area and make it worse.

And since for me, too, a wipe with an alcohol-soaked rag is my go-to primary cleaning method, I also discovered that it does seem to attack that outer layer on the F case. We learn things the hard way all too often.