qHack Development

idollar
i$

02 Apr 2016, 23:28

Sorry to ask again, I am really new in this ... there is always a first time

Actually I have two qHacks
- (a) one will take cherry MX swithes (qHack prototype version C0.0) -> I have keycaps for it
- (b) the second will take ALPs switches (qHack prototype version A0.0) -> I do not have keycaps for it.

(a) With the cherry board my bottom row setup is 1.5 | 1 | 1.5 | 7 | 1.5 | 1 | 1.5 = 15

(b) In the case of the APSs I was thinking to get an standard 104 keycaps set like this one

https://www.massdrop.com/buy/alps-keyca ... romotional

From the picture I can see that the row would be 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 6.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 = 15

If I use 19,05mm as 1 unit -> 1.25 = 23.8 mm but I cannot find a way to fit the keycap marked in bold above

Starting from the very left of the bottom row:

- The distance between the keycaps marked in bold here 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 6.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 works
Photo 02-04-16 23 13 41-small.jpg
Photo 02-04-16 23 13 41-small.jpg (326.43 KiB) Viewed 3295 times
- The distance between the keycaps marked in bold here 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 6.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 works
Photo 02-04-16 23 13 54-small.jpg
Photo 02-04-16 23 13 54-small.jpg (286.6 KiB) Viewed 3295 times
- The distance between the keycaps marked in bold here 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 6.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 | 1.25 does not fit
Photo 02-04-16 23 14 24-small.jpg
Photo 02-04-16 23 14 24-small.jpg (336.64 KiB) Viewed 3295 times
Here comes the questions:

Q1 ) Am I correct if I say that I will not be able to use this keyset ?
Q2) What is the correct size that I shall use for the bottom row ?
Q3) Where may I get APS keycaps for it ?

Many thanks in advance

jacobolus

03 Apr 2016, 00:04

For Alps you need a plate. I recommend something made out of steel. Do you have one? If so, it probably already has a layout set out.