My NeXT keyboard is sick

snacksthecat
✶✶✶✶

20 Apr 2018, 02:57

I got a really good deal on a "non-functional" NeXT keyboard. The previous owner had done some modifications that left the PCB in really poor shape.

I played around with this board the other night and I kept getting excited because I thought I had found the (singular) problem causing the keyboard not to work.

"Oooooh this big glob of solder is shorting out to another glob of solder!"

"Oooooh this trace is cut!"

and so on...

I did my best to repair these things and checked the continuity of the important traces with a multimeter. Unfortunately the keyboard still doesn't work :oops:

I'm wondering, assuming I've fixed all of the soldering problems, what is the next most likely point of failure. I'm a total electronics novice but I've heard a few times now that capacitors go bad over time. Is this a likely possibility? If so, are these easy track down and replace?

For your troubles, here are some fun pictures of the soldering mess I was cleaning up:
Spoiler:

^ my equally terrible job at repairing this trace (hey, it worked!)

Findecanor

20 Apr 2018, 03:29

How do you know the keyboard does not work? What did you test it with?
From what little I think I know, that generation of NeXT keyboards should talk their proprietary protocol. They changed to ADB in later keyboards.

Capacitors can be exchanged for other capacitors with the same capacitance, measured in Farad — F, and every capacitor should labelled with tiny digits and the unit. There are multiple types and most types are interchangeable as long as they have the same capacitance.
The pin order should matter only for electrolytic capacitors which have a + sign noting that. It is mostly these electrolytic ones that go bad over time. They are often cylindrical, looking like small batteries, and if they are especially bad they are swollen and even leak.

snacksthecat
✶✶✶✶

20 Apr 2018, 03:50