Help getting the hang of a Kinesis Advantage

cvds

13 Sep 2011, 00:06

Hello Deskthority,

I have been reading a lot on this site and it seems brimming with bright people that seem to know a lot about keyboards and touch typing (first question: touch typing is when you use all 10 fingers??). In the search of advice I took the plunge and start making my first rather lengthy post.

Since my arms (all parts of it) are starting to get most symptoms of RSI and related terms I decided to get an ergonomic keyboard. After visiting a shop I got myself a kinesis advantage and a handshoe mouse as opposed to a logitech wave and a marble. I like the handshoe mouse it feels way better than any other mouse and forces me to use the arm instead of the wrist.

After typing with the advantage for one day I am indeed experiencing the nice feel of the cherry keys and the cups. I also discovered that I am not a proper 10 finger typer as my pointy fingers are actually sharing keys with eachother :) This is something I can get used to on the advantage. Also normal typing like chat and text is feeling good and I am gaining accuracy while I go (main point of interest here is my brain not getting used to backspace and space on different thumbs)

However there is a problem, I am a programmer using the eclipse IDE. To start I find that some of the symbols I use a lot in the java language ({} and = for instance) are located to far away, these I can probably remap or get used to. Then there are the shortcuts, I find that the ctrl key is located in a odd location (most likely I need to put at least one on the caps key) but the problem does not stop there, for instance ctrl-other modifier-some key shortcuts I find really hard to hit (ex: ctrl-shift-t for "open type", http://www.allapplabs.com/eclipse/eclipse_shortcuts.htm for a chart). Also text selections like shift-home or ctrl-shift-arrow seem odd to physically hit.