mrog - Vi-key compact layout

mrog

12 Dec 2011, 17:17

Let me preface this with the fact that I'm new to keyboard modifications and these are just my musings, looking to find out what sort of interests or other ideas there are around my concept for a compact layout. Maybe I could get the knowhow and the experience to do this myself oneday - or maybe others with similar interests could get together and make something like this a reality for us!

my main concern over current compact layouts is that they hide removed keys as a separate layer under a function key, this is all well and good - but it plays with my muscle memory - and will force me to learn new key presses that are specific to that keyboard and that keyboard only.

Now there is another keylayout that I've had drummed into my head over the years - that layout is the vi/vim keys - and I don't see why they can't be applied to this problem.

So here's my quick throw together/mock-up of what I envisage to be the perfect layout for my vi practised fingers!

See attached!

So some clarification:
The 'Vim' key replaces the Caps Lock key (I presume i'm not the only person who doesnt make use of this wasted realestate!).
The Escape key and the `¬ key are merged.
Vim-Esc is `¬
Vim-^ is Home
Vim-$ is End
Vim-b is Page Up (Ctrl-b is vim equivalent)
Vim-f is Page Down (Ctrl-f is vim equivalent)
Vim-x is Delete
Vim-i is Insert
Vim-h is Left
Vim-l is Right
Vim-j is Down
Vim-k is Up
The F keys are closed together and aligned above the rest of the keys as are the Prtsrcn/Scroll Lock/Pause Break

Ideally I would get rid of the F key row and the other special keys but I can't think of a good solution.

Obviously this layout could be worked with ANSI aswell - but I'm an ISO kind of guy.

What do people think - anywhere It could be improoved?

--edit-- another great thing is that this layout can use standard sized keycap throughout - no funny special keys!
Attachments
mrog layout-small.png