New to the hobby, what to look for?

Zeig

19 Dec 2020, 23:37

Hey everyone! new to the hobby, but over the past year i've started collecting beige keyboards to match my sleeper PC and i don't see it stopping anytime soon.

Curious what things to look out for as hidden gems, what to inspect, etc etc... any advice appreciated!

Currently have/refurbishing...
  • AFFIRMATIVE Unicomp 1220T
  • Cherry MY 1800
  • Dell AT101W
  • IBM KB-8923 -I'm not a mechanical purist :geek:

Dr.Medic

20 Dec 2020, 01:02

Personally, I would look around the local second-hand stores and sites, if you want to get more keyboards for the lowest prices.

Findecanor

20 Dec 2020, 01:29

There are a lot of good vintage keyboards that are not even well-known among collectors.

The Wiki is a great resources for when you find a keyboard on an action site and want to know more.
The label on the back contains things to search for. The FCC ID is especially useful. Some articles about keyboards in the Wiki contain the full FCC IDs. The first three characters in the ID tells the manufacturer.

If the back is sunken in, is curved or if the "plate" in-between the keys is beige plastic, then it is more likely to be a rubber dome/membrane keyboard, and maybe not worth your attention.
Do look for multiple colours on the modifier keys: those are more likely to be double-shot moulded.
Last edited by Findecanor on 21 Dec 2020, 00:36, edited 1 time in total.

Rayndalf

20 Dec 2020, 02:43

Zeig wrote:
19 Dec 2020, 23:37
Hey everyone! new to the hobby, but over the past year i've started collecting beige keyboards to match my sleeper PC and i don't see it stopping anytime soon.

Curious what things to look out for as hidden gems, what to inspect, etc etc... any advice appreciated!

Currently have/refurbishing...
  • AFFIRMATIVE Unicomp 1220T
  • Cherry MY 1800
  • Dell AT101W
  • IBM KB-8923 -I'm not a mechanical purist :geek: