Blue cube troubles?

modelmayheM

30 Jan 2014, 00:57

I'm new to using the model M with a blue cube usb ps/2 adapter. It mostly works fine, but there have been a few times in my first day when the keyboard fails to work on reboot, where it worked at boot but then failed to work in Windows until I plugged it into a different USB port, and once when some keys got mashed and it seemed to add in something weird (maybe an ALT). Is it normal to have some flakiness with an IBM Model M and a blue cube? or should I be expecting no troubles?

scottc

30 Jan 2014, 01:21

I use a blue cube with my Model M SSK and Model F all the time and have never run into this. Sounds strange!

modelmayheM

30 Jan 2014, 01:41

Okay, thanks. Just out of curiosity do you have the blue cube connected directly to the PC or to a hub? Mine is connected to a powered hub. The few times when the keyboard refused to work was when it was connected to the hub, the lights on the KB would flash, but it didn't work. Connected it to the laptop directly and it worked. But before and later it would work fine connected to the powered hub. Maybe I'll try just leaving it directly connected to the laptop for a day or two and see if it's hub related.

scottc

30 Jan 2014, 02:41

Mine was directly into a USB port in my desktop. It does sound like it might be hub-related - my first guess would be that it's not getting enough power, but if it's a powered hub then it shouldn't really have that problem! I think that your best bet would be to try it without the hub, like you suggested. Hope you get to the bottom of it!

modelmayheM

30 Jan 2014, 03:28

Thanks. I'll see what happens. (While the hub is powered, perhaps if all the devices plugged in to it happen to draw a good bit of current at the same time it creates a brown out like situation; don't have any high current drawing devices attached, but who knows.) I'll post back when I learn anything in case someone in the future has this issue.

Muirium
µ