[WTB] Keyboard and mouse for an Apollo Domain Series 3000

No Parking LLC

31 Dec 2021, 22:24

Hey guys, newbie here on the forum. I am gathering parts to rebuild an Apollo Domain 3010A workstation, and I am currently on the lookout for the keyboard and mouse. If anyone happens to have one or both that they're willing to sell, I'll pay handsomely for them. Thanks! (picture isn't mine, stole it from Google just to show what they look like)
Attachments
121-2141_IMG.jpg
121-2141_IMG.jpg (636.63 KiB) Viewed 5908 times

Polecat

31 Dec 2021, 22:34

Mouse looks like a Logitech C7. Standard ones had a 9 pin D connector (RS232 serial) but OEM versions may have been different. What's the mouse connector on the Apollo?

No Parking LLC

31 Dec 2021, 22:49

Polecat wrote:
31 Dec 2021, 22:34
Mouse looks like a Logitech C7. Standard ones had a 9 pin D connector (RS232 serial) but OEM versions may have been different. What's the mouse connector on the Apollo?
The connector on the mouse is a regular DB9 serial connector that connects to the back of keyboard, and yeah It does have the same design as the Logitech C7. I am not 100% sure if the C7 would even work with the system, but for it being an Apollo I'm certain that it uses a proprietary mouse with the same design as the C7.

Polecat

31 Dec 2021, 22:56

Gotcha. The reason I asked is that someplace here I have an OEM C7 with a male D9 connector and no branding. I've had it for decades, and I never did figure out what it went to. The normal C7s with a female D9 are pretty common as I'm sure you're aware.

MMcM

08 Jan 2022, 06:15

The Apollo mouse is not like serial PC mice: even though it uses a DE-9, it isn't RS-232.

It's like the original Macintosh mouse, exposing X- and Y-quadrature lines directly, along with the buttons. Although the pinout isn't the same.

See here.

Polecat

08 Jan 2022, 06:35

MMcM wrote:
08 Jan 2022, 06:15
The Apollo mouse is not like serial PC mice: even though it uses a DE-9, it isn't RS-232.