Where to begin

tedfs3

06 Oct 2018, 21:32

Not really sure if this is the correct spot for this, seems like the best fit between the choices to post in.

100% beginner here. My rabbit hole all started with wanting to find a decent, left handed Russian mechanical keyboard to learn the language with. Fast forward a month later and it pretty much seems like I'll need to design what I want but am very overwhelmed with the amount of data to sift through.

What I want to do seems simple enough. Make a left handed keyboard, even though I'm not left handed. Playing around with the KLE is straight forward. Everything needed to be done after that is a huge blur with information overload searching here. Simply trying to understand how to make the matrix is quite fuzzy. Then there's designing the plate, then the PCB. I can figure out KiCad easy enough, already designed a small project on it for holding Hakko solder tips. No traces required there.

Any pointers on which threads to read up on in what order ? I see plenty of 4 x 4 matrix or 60% ideas out there but I'm going with a full ANSI 104 that will have to be programmed for a custom layout. Trying to figure out how the 104 matrix would need to go isn't quite clear to me.

Seems simple enough but, as already stated, there's so much information to look at that it's overwhelming.
Design the layout
Design the Plate ( The switches I intend to use are plate mount )
Design the Matrix ( Best method and how ? )
Design the PCB ( Learning curve but once the matrix is set, this will be easier )

Haven't settled on the design below but only get to work on it a little bit during the week, so I get to step away and come back with fresh eyes on the weekends. This is pretty close but I do want caps lock and num lock LED indicators since I'm not a proficient typist by any means.

Just looking for some guidance, not a handout. Just feel a bit overwhelmed with where to start and what order would be best to do things in.
Attachments